Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Those old bronze colored mag wheels

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by db300, Feb 11, 2014.

1. db300

db300

Ok, admitted newbie here, so I have to ask:

I've seen, I'd guess 60's era mag wheels in a bronze finish. These were wheels with with holes verses spoke style. Was this finish due to the metal used or was it a special paint? Was it a certain manufacture who produced them during a certain window of time?

Hope that all doesn't sound to vague.....

2. Gotgas

Gotgas
    from DFW USA

That's called a DOW 7 finish. It is an anodizing treatment done to items made from magnesium to keep them from corroding.

Google "magnesium wheels dow finish" for many photos of race wheels in this finish.

3. db300

db300

Thanks for the info! Did a search as you recommended and found lots of info out there!

As that guy on the radio used to say...."and you know the rest of the story"

Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  4. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

If the 60s era wheels you are asking about were aluminum, they were NOT Dow 7 coated, and they were NOT gold colored either.

They were natural aluminum color that only appears to have a gold hue in certain light conditions or in some photos.

A good example are the American "Daisy" 5 spoke aluminum wheels.

You can find multiple posts all over looking for the source of the "gold" color on these wheels when in reality they were never gold at all. :)

Last edited: Feb 12, 2014

5. db300

db300

Actually the one I did see was Magnesium. It was at Fooses shop, turned into a clock.

6. I bought a set of four gold colored real magnesium bolt on 15 inch wheels in the late 60's. Problem was, NHRA wouldn't allow real mag wheels on stock class cars, so I painted the center part black and polished the outer edge. Works for me.

7. Sinister

Sinister
    from Oregon

Magnesium wheels on my dad's 'vette in 1969.

Attached Files:

• Mag.jpg
      Mag.jpg