Register now to get rid of these ads!

The Rush....

Discussion in 'HA/GR' started by Four Banger, Aug 31, 2010.

1. Four Banger

Four Banger

I may be in a personal fix, here. I have type 2 Diabetes, under control with oral medication. I just experienced something that has me very concerned. I drive for a living, and a few days ago I was involved in a very close near-miss.....a guy drove a one ton truck and trailer, loaded with concrete forms, right out of a driveway and directly into my path. I was traveling 65 miles per hour at the time, and loaded about sixty thousand pounds. I dived into the oncoming lane, and ended up on the left shoulder, nearly turning over in the process. Well....no harm, no foul. I went on my merry way, but about ten miles up the road, I began to tremble, tingle all over, and feel very light headed. When I met my relay driver and switched trucks, I was so weak I could barely climb into the cab of the other truck. I had to stop and take a 15 minute nap to make it the 212 miles back home. My Doctor tells me that a rush of adrenalin will drive my blood sugar up to a dangerous level. Here is my dillemma..... I'm concerned about being able to drive a dragster and not have this happen regularly. I'm going to drive a friends oval track car this weekend, to see what happens. I know I always get amped up when I get in one of these things, but I wonder if drag racing might be a bit more relaxed? How do you guys feel when you make a pass down the strip? I know many things I find exhilarating generaly do not cause major rushes of adrenalin, but circle track racing ALWAYS did. I know I can even watch oval track racing and get excited, but drag racing never had that effect on me....odd. Any input from you guys who have done this a lot? I'm kinda bummed, thinking I may not be able to drive SOMETHING fun ever again.

2. 64 DODGE 440

64 DODGE 440
    from so cal