Register now to get rid of these ads!

The right paint for Taildraggers?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by chaser, Sep 30, 2006.

1. chaser

chaser
    from utah

I just bought a 47 coupe built in the 90's and am going to change it up a bit. What do you guys think is the way to go for paint, shiny, suede, flattend mettallic, scallops. What do you think of flake for this type of ride?

The fake lake pipes are gone and the dummy spots are removed, I have a set of 57 caddy caps, and I am going to bag it in october.

Attached Files:

2. Flexicoker

Flexicoker

I'm no expert, but to me that car built that way, screams for super gloss black or candle apple red. Original? no. beautiful? most definatly.

3. Custom54

Custom54

My buddy "gearheadforever" did his in a semi suede emerald green with Caddy caps, I think it looks killer.

[​IMG]

4. speedaddict

speedaddict
    from Austin, Tx

depending on the bodywork I would say candy for super straight, and if its wavy, do suede...

5. Brad S.

Brad S.

I'm still digging on yours but I don't have it straight enough for light tones yet.

Gonna get it back in black this winter. Maybe enough straight body parts can get found for me to get it in paint next year.

6. Chad s

Chad s

Good going on ditching the drummy spots. Now replace them with a real set of Appleton 112's. Lakes pipes never do look right on these cars.

None of the guys I have met or am friendly with that were around in the 50's remember "suede" paint jobs being a popular choice. A primed custom was just one whose body work was not completed. Guys back then wanted a glossy, pretty paint job, that would attract girls. Look in any book on historic customs, few, if none are painted in anything other than a gloss paint. Suede is a more current trend, not a traditional method from the early-mid 50's, which is the golden era of a taildragger such as yours.