Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical The old Bias-ply verses radial tire debate again, with a twist.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dave29, Sep 6, 2015.

1. I’ve been driving my roadster for a several years now on county roads , two lane highways and occasional short trips on less congested sections of I-70. My questions is one of safety. The roadster weighs around 1,500 lbs., SBC, tri-power, Muncie M-21. Super Bell dropped axle in front , with traverse springs and tube shocks. Rear made up of 3-link ,traverse springs, tube shocks, S-10 Blazer rear. I’m running bias-ply tires. Gulf Cruisemaster A78-15 with 18-20 lbs. air . Rears are 8.20-15 General Dual 90 with 24 lbs. The front tires have been trued and balanced. The rears balanced. The car handles well except when the road is not smooth., which is a lot of the time. Expansion joint bumps are the worse. The car leaves the ground if going 50 MPH or so if the bump is a couple of inches tall. Crowns in the roads from heavy trucks is another concern. The car will dart a few inches left/ right.

I’ve learned how the car will handle in these situations but still it can be unnerving at times, especially in traffic. Cruising at 55-60 MPH is not an issue on smooth roads. I’ve had the car up to 75 MPH on a flat county road. It was a little hairy and I’ve not gone that fast again.

I was wondering if switching my current bias-ply to radials. Would there be a big difference in how the car handles or do I need to look at the current chassis set up? The wife has been wanting to drive the car but I’m afraid for hers and mine safety. She’s never driven it and once she gets behind the wheels, she’ll question me about driving an “unsafe” vehicle.