Register now to get rid of these ads!

th350 with 235ci, no 3rd gear

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by SleepyPete, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    Hi,

    I'm running a chevy 53 235ci with a th350 auto.
    The tranny was just rebuilt by the local trannyguy (been doing auto trannys for 30+ years).
    Now to the problem, it wont shift into 3rd gear.
    I have 1st, 2nd and R...
    Checked the guvernor, seems Ok.
    KD kable not connected.
    Could this be a vaccum problem? Should I try with extra vaccum (I have a gaspump with extra vaccum that supposed to go to the wipers).
    Anybody running this combo?

    Thanks

    Peter
     
  2. George/Maine
    Joined: Jan 6, 2011
    Posts: 949

    George/Maine
    Member

    Its the kick down try both ways see if any change.
     
  3. jcmarz
    Joined: Jan 10, 2010
    Posts: 4,636

    jcmarz
    Member
    from Chino, Ca

    now you have a powerglide!
     
  4. greg ducato
    Joined: Oct 19, 2011
    Posts: 29

    greg ducato
    Member

    Try the very best vacuum source you have on the intake, if the kickdown is disconnected and the cable isn't binding, and the governor is in good shape then it could possibly be weak vacuum, though that should affect the 1-2 shift just as much as the two three shift. Having a solid reverse indicates the third gear clutch pack is holding. Even experienced builders can make a mistake, if all of the obvious items check out it is probably internal.
     

  5. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    Ok thanks.
    Yes, since 1 - 2 is working it's probably something else than vacuum issues.
    I will still cross my fingers and try the extra vacuum.... If that doesnt work I'll return it.

    I had a power glide, changed to open drivline, still have a power glide=Sucks :)
     
  6. terryble
    Joined: Sep 25, 2008
    Posts: 541

    terryble
    Member
    from canada

    The "KD Kable" is really a TV cable standing for Transmission Valve. I hoestly don't know if that would effect 3rd gear shift but I do know not having the cable hooked up and adjusted properly will probably void any warranty the rebuilder has or implies. Simple answer is you need to hook up and adjust the cable properly for the tranny to wor right
     
  7. Edelbroke
    Joined: Dec 12, 2008
    Posts: 767

    Edelbroke
    Member


    TV cable= Throttle Valve........Not transmission valve
     
  8. terryble
    Joined: Sep 25, 2008
    Posts: 541

    terryble
    Member
    from canada

    Sorry, I had trouble getting away from TeleVision, wrong name but I stick by the advise, by the way thank-you for the correction.
     
  9. Outlawracer1
    Joined: Oct 9, 2010
    Posts: 9

    Outlawracer1
    Member
    from Indiana

    In a TH 350 if the Kick Down cable is not hooked up it should still shift, Unless the cable is binding or stuck inside the trans, holding it in the WOT position. The transmission would then think it is asking for full throttle kick down shift. Even then it should still shift but would be at a high rpm/mph.
    TV cable as some would call it is referred to on a 700r4/4l60. It is very critical these are adjusted properly. It controls fluid pressure depending on throttle position. If not connected and adjusted on 700r4/4l60 it is certain death.
     
  10. George/Maine
    Joined: Jan 6, 2011
    Posts: 949

    George/Maine
    Member

    You say you have a 350 ,you must have changed it.The powerglide orginal reverse is all the way down, like 1st in manual.
    I go with outlawracer kick down is stuck in wrong postion.
     
  11. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    Tried the extra vacuum...still no 3rd gear. With the extra vacuum I have almost 20" on my vacuum meter. That should be more than enough for an idling engine...right?
    I think I read somewhere that around 16 should be enough.
    As I understand it, the th350 should still shift even if the KD cable is not connected. I just have a small plugged hose where the KD wire should go down, so there is no binding. Also when I removed the oilpan I looked at the KD, and it was ok.
    I think i'll tear it down and return it.
    Thanks for all the input.
     
  12. 73super
    Joined: Dec 14, 2007
    Posts: 778

    73super
    Member

    Yeah... I've had to take the same transmission back to a reputable shop more than once.. they do miss things and make mistakes.. doesn't mean the shop is bad.. just means people make mistakes from time to time or get in a hurry? Definitely take it back.. they'll make it right.
     
  13. leaky rear drum seal??
     
  14. Could it be that it is only in second and not Drive on the gear selector?
    My limited skills dictate that I check the real simple stuff before I tear things apart.
     
  15. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    No, its not. Tried going manually 1st, 2nd and then drive. No difference.
     
  16. d2_willys
    Joined: Sep 8, 2007
    Posts: 4,109

    d2_willys
    Member
    from Kansas

    The TH350 does not use a manual throttle valve, the throttle valve is controlled via the vacuum modulator. The linkage or cable going to the transmission is for kickdown only.

    If the kickdown lever is not connected, it might be possible that the kickdown lever is in the kickdown position and therefore all shifts would be at the highest speed the governor and vacuum modulator allow the shifts to be at.

    What speed does it shift out of 1st with partial throttle? If it is higher than 20-30mph, then the kickdown lever might be sitting in the kickdown position. If this is the case, your 2nd-3rd shift would be up near 60-70mph all the time.
     
  17. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 27,545

    Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    It has no effect with the trans going into third gear. But it may affect "When" it goes into third gear. I'm leaning towards a vacuum problem or modulator issue.
     
  18. OahuEli
    Joined: Dec 27, 2008
    Posts: 5,041

    OahuEli
    Member
    from Hawaii

    Just found out today my TH 350 isn't going into third either. There is no cable attached to the trans; I'm guessing it was removed at some time in the past. Where does it connect inside? Guess I gotta drop the pan to check this out so any info would be helpful. I'm a 4 speed guy and haven't worked on an auto trans for many years, need all the advice I can get.
     
  19. chop32
    Joined: Oct 13, 2002
    Posts: 1,077

    chop32
    Member

    Ive had a similar problem with a couple Th-350's, one was low vacuum, one was no vacuum (forgot to hook the hose to the modulator). It might be that you have a bad vacuum modulator.
     
  20. Baumi
    Joined: Jan 28, 2003
    Posts: 2,536

    Baumi
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I had a similar problem on a TH350 I rebuilt myself. The seal ring on the rear drum was wedged when I put the drum in the case during assembly and I didn´t notice it. The tranny had no 3rd gear. I went through it once more and saw the damage . TH350s are quite obvious if you´re looking for a problem, it usually can be determined easily. But my gut says you gotta pull the tranny and take it back to the tranny man.
     
  21. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    It goes into 2nd gear almost right after take off, so I don't think it's a kickdown problem. I also suspected the modulator, so a bought a new adjustable one. Tried with the screw all the way out. Still no 3rd gear.
     
  22. SleepyPete
    Joined: Nov 2, 2007
    Posts: 21

    SleepyPete
    Member
    from Sweden

    Ok. I will talk to the builder about this. Thanks.
     
  23. Baumi
    Joined: Jan 28, 2003
    Posts: 2,536

    Baumi
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    It´s no biggie, the rear drum seal just can´t hold the oil pressure and therefore there´s no 3rd. To be honest, I tried to kick my ass for screwing up but stuff like that happens.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.