Register now to get rid of these ads!

TH350 passing gear?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrod54chevy, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    We're wrapping up putting a '65 283 in my '54 Chevy with a 350 tranny and I have some questions: the blown up engine we took out had aq-jet, the 283 has a Rochester 2 jet. I'm keeping the 2 jet because it runs and should be cheaper on gas, but what do I do with the passing gear? We bolted it to the inner fender until we replace the plug wires, but do any HAMBers have a suggestion of what to do with it? I might go back to a 4 barrel later, I don't know. I have to 2 intakes and 2 4 barrels, I just wanna know what to do with it in the meantime! Thanks, guys!


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  2. deto
    Joined: Jun 26, 2010
    Posts: 2,621

    deto
    Member

    Do you mean the kick down cable?

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  3. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    Yeah, I'm not too familiar with the terminology, I've just unbolted and rebolted what I've had. Here's a pic of what I've got. ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1407633543.708066.jpg

    The piece I'm talking about's on the passenger side inner fender by the vent opening on the firewall.


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  4. primed34
    Joined: Feb 3, 2007
    Posts: 940

    primed34
    Member

    Put it back on the carb. It'll work with the 2 barrel. Might have to do some adjusting.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    Where?


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  6. tfeverfred
    Joined: Nov 11, 2006
    Posts: 15,796

    tfeverfred
    Member

    There should have been a bracket. Or is that part of it in the picture? If so, connect it all back up. It should work together with the throttle assembly, when you put the peddle to the metal. A heavy car, like a '54, will love a passing gear. Remember.... "What's behind me, is NOT important."
     
  7. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    All the throttle brackets I currently have came off the q-jet. The 2 barrel just has the arms for throttle and choke. No brackets. The q-jet brackets won't work with this carb.


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  8. tfeverfred
    Joined: Nov 11, 2006
    Posts: 15,796

    tfeverfred
    Member

    You might hit the internet and find an illustration or picture of how it was all hooked up.
     
  9. gimpyshotrods
    Joined: May 20, 2009
    Posts: 16,502

    gimpyshotrods
    Member

    Like so:
    [​IMG]
     
    loudbang likes this.
  10. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    Thanks, yeah, I've already burned through google and seen a billion pics. That pic is actually from a thread with the topic of "this doesn't work, what do I do?" or something similar. I'm pretty sure I've got a TH350, not a 700R where a kickdown vs. TV cable is VERY important! I'll have to double check, but I think I know where I can get a bracket to use the cable. Thanks, everyone! Any other pics and advice is appreciated!


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  11. gimpyshotrods
    Joined: May 20, 2009
    Posts: 16,502

    gimpyshotrods
    Member

  12. junkyardjeff
    Joined: Jul 23, 2005
    Posts: 7,255

    junkyardjeff
    Member

    Time to hit the junkyards and find a 2 bbl bracket.
     
  13. ev88f
    Joined: Jan 29, 2010
    Posts: 371

    ev88f
    Member

    just put the quadrajet back on it. It'll get better mileage than the 2bbl anyway
     
    BORRACHO13 likes this.
  14. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    Nononono... Just about finished putting an engine in, I'm not doing an intake/carb swap unless I have to!


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  15. 56sedandelivery
    Joined: Nov 21, 2006
    Posts: 5,915

    56sedandelivery
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    There should be plenty of 2 barrel brackets in the wrecking yards. BUT, the TH350 transmissions sold by Summit under their "name", do not come with a throttle pressure/kickdown cable; even the hole in the trans for the cable is plugged. There are also some universal type, aftermarket, brackets sold that even come chrome plated. I'd still look for something off a factory motor. I am Butch/56sedandelivery.
     
  16. If it's got a vacuum modulator in the back, it's a T350.
    You don't need a bracket that bolts to the carb. It can bolt to the intake like the one in the picture. You might have to weld a couple of them together. Place the clip on part of the cable where you can get full pull at full throttle. That part is adjustable too, so need not be perfect.
     
  17. BLAKE
    Joined: Aug 10, 2002
    Posts: 2,763

    BLAKE
    Member

    To answer your question, just set it aside until you find the right carb/bracket combination to let you use it. It won't hurt anything being disconnected.
     
  18. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,208

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from texas

    As said it will not hurt the trans. But you will not have a down shift with the accelerator pedal to second gear. With that that 3400 pound chevy it would be nice to have and is a no brainier to hook up. You got the engine in what's one cable?
     
  19. mashed
    Joined: Oct 15, 2011
    Posts: 1,474

    mashed
    Member
    from 4077th

    Manually downshift in the event you need to pass.
     
  20. hotrod54chevy
    Joined: Nov 7, 2003
    Posts: 1,589

    hotrod54chevy
    Member
    from Ohio

    Will one of these work? ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1407776553.228293.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1407776562.295289.jpg


    It's primitive technology that is further compromised in the name of vanity.- HAMBer Cleatus

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  21. txturbo
    Joined: Oct 23, 2009
    Posts: 1,771

    txturbo
    Member

    That top one should work.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.