Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Th350 doesn't work after shift kit install

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by model A hooligan, Aug 21, 2015.

1. So I have been driving my car for about 6 years,took it apart for a rebuild and at the same time I did a b&m shift improver kit.followed the crappy instructions and now that it's time to drive...I have no gears.nothing. the gear selector works,but it just will not do anything.yes its full of fluid.is there anything I could of done wrong? The fluid was pretty bad prior.but it didn't slip at all,so I don't think that the new fluid ruined it (I know a flush can ruin a old trans)

2. Drop any check ball's on the floor? Was the trans in the car,or on the bench when you did this?

3. infamous1

infamous1
    from NC

Check the S link. I have seen a few issues with getting those in correctly when putting the valve body back up.

Sent from my Z750C using Tapatalk

primeisnotacrime likes this.
  4. speedfreak1970

speedfreak1970

Are you saying you rebuilt it and at the same time installed a shift kit?
    If so it could be almost anything from a cut/missing seal to a broken/missing sealing ring

5. Yep, check the S linkage to make sure its still connected to the gear selector valve. The detents will still work but if the linkage isn't attached to the valve, the trans won't route the fluid to the proper channels.

6. blue 49

blue 49
    from Iowa

........and don't miss tightening the valve body bolt above the S-link.

7. Its not rebuilt,I just did a shift kit.as far as the balls,I took the ones out that b&m says and put back the ones it said to.

S link seemed to be correct but I'll drop the pan and look again

8. bcumbie

bcumbie
    from East Texas