Register now to get rid of these ads!

tech stuff, couple of ?s

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hillbilly, Jan 7, 2004.

1. Was wondering while at work tonight....something posted during TECH WEEK, about using the battery charger and water with baking soda to electrically remove rust...would this work on LARGER stuff too? Like if I were to build a fiberglass tank large enough to hold a 20's willys cowl, would it work the same? need a larger charger? seems to me it would...but I'm not an electrical engineer...

second, where can I find a used plasma cutter other than eGay? some stuff on there seems to be higher priced used than NEW as of late....

2. i'm doing the washing soda and battery charger right now on some small parts , like some door latchs and hinges. it seams to be working real good and i was wundering about doing something real big myself...like a whole body if i made a tub for it....it doesn't seam to be how much current you use. i have two tubs going right now to experiment..one has a 10 amp battery charger and the other has a 1/2 amp motorcycle battery charger and they both seam to be equal in what they can do...i'll be curious to hear what the experts think too

3. sawzalls done it and it works out real nice..the set up is simple enough, and can be made to do whatever you need.

4. You may be able to find a plastic tank at a feed store or farm supply outfit that's cheaper than making your own.

I've seen plastic tanks up to 1500 gallons at our local farm store.

5. Wouldn't the cost of the tank etc be more than the cost of Naval Jelly? We are talking surface rust here, right? [​IMG]
    Just curious I guess. [​IMG] [​IMG]

6. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus