Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tech Request: Transmission Tunnel

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by GTSDave, Mar 4, 2008.

1. GTSDave

GTSDave

I have come to the point with my Barracuda where it is time to fab up the tranny tunnel. So far every thing has been going pretty smooth with the chassis build but the tunnel is giving me a headache.

I need suggestions on how I could roll out a couple of cone shapes to start out on this thing. I am limited on sheet metal tools, but do have a bead roller and lots of cutting equipment hehehe.

What I was hoping for was a few suggestions on ways to form a couple of cones / tapered sections that I could weld together to form a new tunnel.

Does anyone have a few tips for me?

I guess I should add this is a race piece with the entire tunnel cut out at the moment. I am running a wedge with a Jerico 4-Speed and Lakewood scatter shield. Nothing is stock, and I am still learning metal sheet metal work.

-Dave

2. ray-jay

ray-jay
    from Buford GA

I used to improvise a lot when it came to sheetmetal fab. If you keep the sections short then you can easily bend them over a trailer tire, mini bike tire, your thigh or other round object. By short I mean front to back as it would be placed in the car. Just do a mock up out of poster board taped together and you will then have the patterns.

I used .040 alum sheet a lot. It is a bit more difficult to form but it is less likely to kink or acquire dents while forming.

3. GTSDave

GTSDave

Class rules dictate I must use steel. Most of the steel on this car is 20 gauge, so it is a little tougher than aluminum to bend.

I was thinking of doing it with 2 cones. One large one coming off the bell housing area, then a second one tapering off to the driveshaft tunnel.

I didn't think of using a tire to bend around it. With all the dirt bikes, go carts, and other motorized toys at the house I may be able to find a tire that is the right size.

Thanks for the tip.