Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tech Request: Reversing V8-60 Front Axle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jon Dunchack, Dec 26, 2007.

1. Jon Dunchack

Jon Dunchack

I’m a beginner, so this is probably a pretty basic question here. I want to build a t-bucket along the lines of Grabowski’s Kookie Car or Tommy Ivo’s T. Although I know I’m in for a steep learning curve, I don’t want to go the kit route for a lot of reasons but mostly because I want to learn these things and the kits don’t have the look I want anyway.
    <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    Both Grabowski's and Ivo's cars use a ’37 Ford V8-60 front tube axle, but they reversed the front spring hangers and mounted a ’40 Ford transverse spring. I searched the HAMB and found this link about Ivo’s front axle http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=165280&highlight=front+wishbone The link has some great close-ups but nothing in the way of a tech how to.
    <o:p></o:p>
    Issue number thirty-six of The Rodder’s Journal has a spread on Von Franco’s recreation of Grabowski’s “Kookie” car and “Lightnin’ Bug”. The article notes that Grabowski “located the front spring behind the axle with specially-machined brackets”. Yikes!
    <o:p></o:p>
    Anyone done this and written a tech?

2. revkev6

revkev6
    from ma

I've never seen a great pic of that front end myself but, what it looks like to me is this.

they took the later 37-ish ford spring-in-front wishbone and cut the forged spring perch off of the wishbone. they then bolted it on backwards and welded it to the axle so it wouldn't pivot. they then welded on a set of batwings for hairpins about 3-4 inches inboard of the spring perch.

3. Rem

Rem