Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tech Month~~Home made metal shaping tools

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jhnarial, Dec 27, 2008.

1. jhnarial

jhnarial
    from MISSOURI

First off I would like to start with an introduction.I am still pretty new to H.A.M.B,some of you might know me from my Let's see some sheet metal shaping thread.My name is Johnny Arial and I live in Excelsior Springs Mo.

My goal is to get as many people as I can involved into metal shaping.Not only is it a great hobby but it helps save these old cars we all love so much.I hope that my son and then his son's son(edit daughters as well) will have the same opportunity as we have to enjoy these cars.

Some might think you need a ton of money to get started but I want to show most of these tools can be made from the scrap you have laying around your shop.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A shrinking tool is one of the most important tools needed to get started.There are two tools that you can make yourself, tucking forks or a stump.After learning how to stump shrink I hardly ever use my tucking forks anymore.So let me show you how I made my stump.

I started off by finding a hardwood stump,then I cut off the new growth and bark with a chainsaw.Then I cleaned it up with an electric planer.This is not necessary but I tend to overkill everything.
    20080429_1.JPG

I made the dish of my stump 8'' around and 2'' deep.To do so I marked it out on the stump then set the depth on my skill saw to 2'' deep and then cut out the dish.Then with a chisel and grinder and sander I cleaned out the dish.
    20080429_2.JPG

Then I checked it out to see how it was shrinking.
    20080429_8.JPG

Then I put three coats of boiled linseed oil on it to try to slow down the drying process to prevent cracks.

20080430_2.JPG