Register now to get rid of these ads!

TECH: Driveshafts, How Long?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by draggin'GTO, Jul 4, 2005.

1. draggin'GTO

draggin'GTO

This will be my first Tech Week contribution, I hope the members of the HAMB will find it useful.

Finding out what length driveshaft you need when building a car is sometimes difficult. With so many different combinations of transmissions, rear ends and wheelbases most builders will need one custom-made to fit their car. After the car is very close to being finished (body and chassis complete, engine and trans complete and installed) it's now time to build the driveshaft.

This little tech write-up doesn't apply to closed-drive cars with a torque tube enclosed driveshaft. I have no experience with those and I'm sure each type has its own important details you need to know about and watch out for. Nor am I going to show you how to do it yourself even though many here do their own, I'll assume you're taking it to a HAMB-approved driveshaft shop.

Just because your buddy dropped a SBC and a TH350 into his '50 Ford (sorry hard-core Ford guys) and you're using the same basic drivetrain in your '49 doesn't mean the driveshaft in his car will be the same as yours, even though both cars are keeping the stock Ford rear end.

Transmission pinion yokes vary in dimension, two TH350 yokes won't necessarily be the same length. There are dozens of different yokes that look close to the same but aren't. The same goes for the pinion yoke on the rear end, they vary sometimes as well. Of course different rear ends will have their U-joint locations at different distances from the axle centerline.

You'll have to measure your own individual drivetrain in order to have a new driveshaft of the correct length made up.