Register now to get rid of these ads!

T-Bucket tow bar

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by magsnubby, Oct 28, 2010.

1. magsnubby

magsnubby
    from Fresno,Ca

I want to set my T-Bucket up so i can flat tow it (i'll be redoing it this winter and i'll need to tow it to the muffler shop and the upholstery shop). I tried an old VW tow bar i have laying around but there isn't enough room between the shocks and it's just a few inches off the blacktop. Anyone have any ideas?

2. custom make something that will fit , get some steel and weld it up

3. Rebel 1

Rebel 1

x2 on that

4. barry wny

barry wny

5. magsnubby

magsnubby
    from Fresno,Ca

How? Make it VW style? What would i use to pad it with to keep it from scratching the axle? Bolt some brackets to the frame to attach the tow bar to? Close my eyes, start welding stuff together and hope it works?

I've never built a tow before. I just need some ideas.

6. denis4x4

denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado

This is a Reese universal adjustable tow bar I use on my Zipper and a Jeep. Camping World stocks them.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 28, 2010
  7. magsnubby

magsnubby
    from Fresno,Ca

What are the brackets bolted to? The axle?

8. denis4x4

denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado

I used 1/2" grade 8 stainless steel bolts and some shims to make sure that the brackets are parallel. Painted them red to match the paint on the axle and you really don't notice them .

9. Muttley

Muttley

It would be easier/cheaper to find a friend with a trailer or to call a tow truck. Do you have AAA?

10. denis4x4

denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado