Register now to get rid of these ads!

synchronized 3 speed w/overdrive against the original Model A engine, w/torquetube

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by manyolcars, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    Use the machined down extension housing end that holds the bearing ,,adaptor plate/clam shell mount has seal installed in mine,,,
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    RoddyB34 that's what I was thinking of doing.. So the seal rides on the U joint right?
     
  3. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    No on the shaft behind it ,,I’ll do some more pics of my parts tonight,,
     
  4. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    I don't think there's enough room on mine...?
     
  5. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    image.jpeg The seal runs behind the spline on this one ,,realise too that the stock Uni clamps against the rear bearing ,,I welded the washer to my uni so it creates a positive stop against the end of shaft ,
     
    Departed likes this.
  6. x77matt
    Joined: Mar 2, 2004
    Posts: 406

    x77matt
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    IMG_1446.JPG IMG_1447.JPG

    Great thread guys! I'm doing one of these for my 32 sedan. By my rough calculations, the whole rig will end up about an inch longer than a 39 box, so I'm hoping to shove the 59a motor an inch forward in order to save the stock k-member and retain the stock 32 mount. I'm using an 85 RTS transmission with the 3.0 first gear. My mainshaft is off to Tim Sheridan in Michigan to get re-machined. He also builds full bolt in kits for model A's if you don't have excellent fab skills.

    I like your idea of how to build the rear adapter, as it is cheap and straight forward. I wasn't that clever when I started this and went ahead and bought a bolt on plate adapter as pictured above for the early Ford trans mount from Jerry (texasfordman) in Texas.

    Has anyone else done one in a stock 32 k- member?
     
    RoddyB34 likes this.
  7. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    RoddyB34,
    Who machined your shaft and did it had to be annealed and back hardened after? Did you only anneal the end where you got it milled or the entire shaft?
    I'm thinking about machining a threaded end instead of the hole and inside threads. (Instead of a bolt I'll use a nut to hold my U-joint) that way I can get the whole thing machined with carbide tools instead of annealing the shaft.
     
  8. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    Mine was done at a local machine shop he as a lot of good machines and does a lot of this work, shaft wasn’t annealed and I was assured that it will be ok
     
    Departed likes this.
  9. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    Oh really!?
    I wonder how he cut the threads inside the end? I thought it was too hard for a tap...
    That's good to know,
    Thanks!
     
  10. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 7,338

    manyolcars

    I used a sealed bearing, and threaded and plugged a hole in the transmission case.
     
    Departed likes this.
  11. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 7,338

    manyolcars

    After annealing, it was easy to drill and tap the shaft for the UJoint bolt
     
    Departed likes this.
  12. Beanscoot
    Joined: May 14, 2008
    Posts: 454

    Beanscoot
    Member

    Maybe it's case hardened (outer surface only), so the interior is not hardened.
     
    seb fontana and Departed like this.
  13. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    I would anneal it, but I'm not sure if once annealed, if it will need to be re hardened? I'm not sure if the shaft would be strong enough to stay annealed either?
    I think machining a threaded end and put a nut instead would be the easiest/safest way to go.
    Also, I didn't know you could get a sealed bearing for the transmission. Is it a special order? Any part number for that sealed bearing? Thanks Manyolcars for all the good info!
     
  14. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 7,338

    manyolcars

    Hey Departed, Hows it going? I took the old bearing to the bearing store and they matched it with a sealed bearing
     
    Departed likes this.
  15. cvstl
    Joined: Apr 15, 2009
    Posts: 1,326

    cvstl
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from StL MO
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    Doing this conversion now on a 36 5w. I spent a lot of time measuring and drawing to make an adapter plate, using the tail shaft housing as a pattern. Since the original trans slung some oil out to lube the u-joint, I figured it was a good idea..... I made my adapter plate like the tailshaft housing with a recess for the drain hole to let oil that comes through the bearing drain back into the case, like the tailshaft housing does. I'll drill a hole thru the rear trans mount to let any back through that ends up in the clam shell.

    My shaft is out to Moser for cut-off and splining, and should be back end of next week. Still gotta shorten my driveshaft and TT about 2-1/2", but that is in the works. Should be downhill from here, right? 20171218_140850.jpg 20171218_141119.jpg 20180103_192422.jpg :rolleyes:.
     
    Departed likes this.
  16. nice work there.....
     
    RoddyB34 likes this.
  17. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    Yes,,nice job on the adapter plate combination of the bearing retainer and the clamshell mount in the one plate ,,that will give you a bit more shaft size to spline before it reduces down,,I’ve ran my conversion briefly and it works great and looks original in the car ,,
     
  18. cvstl
    Joined: Apr 15, 2009
    Posts: 1,326

    cvstl
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from StL MO
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    Thanks. I'm hoping it works like I think it will....... I only drew up the adapter. A buddy got it machined for me.
     
  19. cvstl
    Joined: Apr 15, 2009
    Posts: 1,326

    cvstl
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from StL MO
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    Unbelievable...... the post office destroyed the box and delivered it to Moser with a shaft, but not the shaft I sent.

    I believe that these mainshafts are the same as T-170 top loaders. Can anybody confirm that?
     
  20. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    Sure is unbelievable ,,it's like the post office had one laying around from a previous loss ,
     
  21. NW Transmission in Ohio may be able to help you out. Check them on the web.
     
  22. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 7,338

    manyolcars

    I think I read somewhere that the 80-83 Ford 3 spd w/overdrive (T170F) had the same internal parts as the 84-87. The difference was the side mounted shifter in 80-83
     
  23. cvstl
    Joined: Apr 15, 2009
    Posts: 1,326

    cvstl
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from StL MO
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    I have sourced another shaft. Does anybody here have dimensional specs for splines - OD, ID & Spline Width?
    They also lost my extra u-joint, and, with my calipers, I'm not comfortable having them cut based on my measurements alone and no mating piece to check.

    If I can confirm my measurements with someone else, I'll probably do it. Otherwise, I'll get another u-joint to send them.
     
  24. porknbeaner
    Joined: Sep 12, 2003
    Posts: 40,188

    porknbeaner
    Member

    Funny I have been considering different ways to make my Saginaw work with my '40 Torque tube. I am going to have to come back to this and consider my options.
     
  25. cvstl
    Joined: Apr 15, 2009
    Posts: 1,326

    cvstl
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from StL MO
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    Got my shaft back and assembled. Just gotta clean up the case and stuff it all back in. 20180306_202044.jpg
     
  26. Jimmy2car
    Joined: Nov 26, 2003
    Posts: 1,671

    Jimmy2car
    Member
    from No. Cal

    Fyi
    That 3 speed w /OD was also used in Ford E 150 Vans
     
  27. Departed
    Joined: Dec 20, 2010
    Posts: 31

    Departed
    Member
    from Canada

    I got everything done on mine. Just wondering what clutch disk I can use???? I'm running a model A pressure plate and flywheel with a AA bell housing.
     
  28. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    If you use the Ford 3 speed you could hook it up to your column shift ,,
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018 at 1:49 AM
  29. RoddyB34
    Joined: Oct 13, 2009
    Posts: 473

    RoddyB34
    Member

    image.jpeg image.jpeg
    When I did mine I had to get a disc made so it didn't interfere with the flywheel bolts ,,it had the late ford spline ,,I still have it,,,if you where closer you could have it ,,,it only ran in the car for a few miles ,, image.jpeg image.jpeg f
     
  30. porknbeaner
    Joined: Sep 12, 2003
    Posts: 40,188

    porknbeaner
    Member

    I don't have a column shift. I do got a '40 column but its an original floor shift column. The Sag is a GM tranny and we are converting to open drive. I got lazy, well that and I got a hair brained idea to try with my '40 rear.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.