Register now to get rid of these ads!

Sunday rant (more like a cry for help for all of us...)

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by exwestracer, Jul 15, 2012.

1. I guess I've officially become an "old guy", because I'm thinking a lot these days about the "younger generation" and why so many (not all) just don't get the idea of doing quality work, and the satisfaction it can bring. My day job is teaching chassis fabrication to adult (well 18+, anyway) students. I also occasionally help the wife out with her upholstery business. She's been successful enough that we've been looking for a full-time employee, and BOY has that been an adventure… Recently, while helping her out with a job for an older gentleman, I woke up and realized what the communication error is with young people and trying to teach them the joy of craftsmanship.

For years now, we've been trying to "engineer" certain diseases and traits out of our population. Cancers, smallpox, bad breath, you name it; we've been digging deep in the genetic toolbox. It seems to be that we HAVE been quite successful in getting rid of one thing…the human attention span. The gentleman we were doing the upholstery job for was an "old school" machinist. We found an aluminum casting that was part of his convertible top had a bad case of rot. The owner said he'd fix it himself and explained how he was going to do it. A TIG welder, metal putty, and files. No CNC machines, no overnight shipping in new parts… We agreed that neither of us knew any of the younger generation who would take the time to sit down and do the job correctly. I told him that I doubted I would have that kind of patience myself...