Register now to get rid of these ads!

Stupid Question, putting seatbelts in a '56 T-bird

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Iceberg460, Aug 12, 2010.

1. Iceberg460

Iceberg460

Hey guys, as the tittle states I got a dumb question for ya. I'm a tech at a Ford dealer and just had a customer drop off a '56 T-bird for us to install clip-in seatbelts in(you install two eye bolts in the floor and clip the belt to them). He also dropped off the belts and hardware but no instructions.

The install looks pretty straight forward, but I've never installed belts that haven't had factory anchor points to tie into, and these parts being such a major safty device I figured I'd beter ask. So I guess I'm looking for pointers, ideas and suggestions from you guys that have done this before.

Thanks, Justin...

2. I can't believe that a Ford Dealer would actually take this in! WOW

Make Sure you use some large (3-4") washers under the floor

3. 69fury

69fury

X2 I'd actually go overkill on a plate underneath- you DONT want the liability of them pulling through and having to explain why there was a meat missle flying down I-70 after the crash.

-rick

4. Iceberg460

Iceberg460

Cool, just to make sure were on the same page you can anchor them to the floor pan? Without reinforcement? Just want to make sure they don't have to be tied into the frame.

Edit: 69Fury, what kinda plate? I got some 4''x3/16 strip I can use, probably weld it in?

And yes we do take this kinda stuff in, got some oldtimers here who worked on this stuff when it was almost new, and if they don't take the boss knows he can stick me with it:rolleyes:

Last edited: Aug 12, 2010

5. Iceberg460

Iceberg460

6. pcterm2

pcterm2

my 2 cents
    dont do it liability is too great for your dealership

7. I'll try and remember to look at my 56 T Bird tonight and see how they are mounted.

Still can't get over a Dealership working on old cars - never happen here!

8. rexrogers

rexrogers