Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Stupid Q - SBF in 35-40 Ford - Exhaust Manifolds/Pipe Routing

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Yutan Flash, Aug 29, 2014.

1. I've got too much time on my hands - broke my ankle a couple weeks ago and am pretty much restricted from working in the shop for a couple of months (crutches, dirt floor and piles of crap do not mix well). Taking advantage of the time on my ass in the recliner I am thinking about how to go forward with projects, one of which is a '40 Ford Tudor. I have been collecting parts for it for 35 years and plan to start work on it some time next year. I'd like to stay "traditional" with a '40 truck engine I already have and maintain the original drivetrain/suspension/steering/brakes, but the nagging thing in my mind is that I'd love to put a SBF in it. One of the bugaboos of such a swap is the exhaust system, specifically clearing the stock steering gearbox. I am aware of what most people do - block-hugging tube headers, for instance - but I want to approach this question from another angle - literally. I like the challenge of keeping the OEM/factory look, including the exhaust, plus I'm not a big fan of the tube header thing. It occurred to me that the original flathead exhaust manifold (albeit set up for single exhaust) on the driver's side drops the exhaust pipe toward the front of the block versus out the center-rear like on a typical SBF.

I'm not aware of a cast iron exhaust manifold for the SBF that has a true center or forward outlet, hence my stupid question #1: was one ever made, and if not, would there be a good reason to engineer one?