Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Studebaker Champ info?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by OldCarPilot, Sep 9, 2021.

1. OldCarPilot

OldCarPilot
    from Bel Air MD

I just purchased a 1960 Studebaker Champ for a 6 year project for my 10 year old.
    I am not a car novice but definitely an a Studebaker novice. I've looked around and found a few resources but it's hard to find specifics.
    Brakes are my first get. I'm going to go with the Turner disk kit but keep drums on the back. I've seen a chevy conversion for them but very little specifics on that. Anyone have an info on this? Or also any resources specificity for this truck?

Thanks in advance! 20210906_154822.jpg

2. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

Not much out there because...there's not much out there !
    There are Chevy to Stude chassis mounts for the cars, but nothing for the trucks that I'm aware of.
    A Small Chevy engine gets lost in that huge engine compartment. I've known two people that have installed big Chevy engines. Both did the task differently.
    General, multi-car, front motor mounts should work. Just get the engine in at the correct angle and straight. You're on your own for the trans. mount. There are so many different transmissions available, no one that I've ever heard of makes a specific one. Again, there are many...different trans. mount/crossmembers available.

Summit and Jegs are your friend.

One thing, most all of the 1/2 ton Studebaker trucks used the same chassis. So what parts that may be available for one year, should be somewhat easy to come by. and fit many years.

Stude parts -
    1. Studebaker International
    2. Myers Studebaker
    3. Studebaker Vendors - https://www.studebakervendors.com/
    4. Summit Racing & Jegs

Forums -
    Studebaker Drivers site

Looks like a good sand blasting may be in order too !
    Good luck, have fun.

Mike

LAROKE likes this.
  3. southerncad

southerncad