Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Stock '48 Ford F1 Brake Master Cyl.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TheCreeper, Jan 25, 2015.

1. TheCreeper

TheCreeper
    from Louisiana

Google has failed me. Cardone's tech manuals are non-existant, so I remembered (I know...I'm slow) Somebody at the H.A.M.B knows the answer...

I've been working on my '48 F1 for a couple years now. Getting closer to street deployment, but I'm still a ways off. As with everything else on this re-build I've had to replace the master cylinder. I have 4 projects I'm working on at the same time (1949 Ford Tudor Sedan, 1956 Chevy 210 two door post and a 1966 Ford Fairlane 500 XL 2 door), so I'm always working with a shoe-string budget.

Instead of going disc brakes out of the box I just opted to go stock for now. I order the replacement Cardone brand M. Cylinder (p/n 13-21050). When it came in the first thing I noticed was that the cap was different in that it had both a large and small cover. See image. Pulling the small cap I see what appears to be a metal sleeve at the bottom. Trying to unscrew the bottom,, larger cap I put so much effort into it that I thought something would break. Before I get my 4' cheaper pipe on this thing, have anyone else seen one like this? Thanks in advance.

$_32.jpg

2. Thaplumbr

Thaplumbr

Mines the same way, if I remember correctly the ring your seeing is just that a crush ring.

3. TheCreeper

TheCreeper
    from Louisiana

So to fill the reservoir you only open the brass fitting and not the larger black cap that it screws into? Seems like it would take 30 minutes of dripping the fluid in. Thanks for the reply, btw.

4. paleot

paleot
    from louisiana

Mine is the same as Yours, large cap came off easily. Same brand as yours, bought it off of Ebay installed and bled brakes Surprise Surprise it LEAKS.

5. TheCreeper

TheCreeper
    from Louisiana