Register now to get rid of these ads!

Starting Out

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by Hemihead_NHRA, Mar 1, 2018.

1. Hemihead_NHRA

Hemihead_NHRA

Hello! Im new, yeah shocker? I have a 1950 Dodge Coronet Sedan currently running with the original drivetrain. Slow? Very. But with dual side pipes and glasspacks connected to a dual header for a flathead inline 6? Not something you see everyday. I love old tradition hot rods, like the ones kids made back in the 50’s when they were in high school, guess im kimda with that crowd since im currently attending high school. So when you have a car thats slow and is a mopar what do you do? Throw in a 291 Desoto s21 Fireflite hemi from ‘55. Need some advice on this massive project because I am still learning and doing things kinda on my own with no welder. Sounds fun. Thanks for reading, advice is appreciated[​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

‘33chevNate likes this.
  2. ol-nobull

ol-nobull

Hi & welcome. Nice ride you have there. Talking about more speed wanted and a hemi there are a few things to consider. Should be room for that engine but you will have to fab engine mounts. If your original tranny does not bolt to the new engine you will have to fab or get a bel housing adapter or you will have to get tranny to go with new engine. Is your old tranny strong enough for the Hemi? If you do that then likely you will have to modify the tranny cross member or fab a new one. If you change transmission most likely you will have to adapt the driveshaft by shortening or lengthing it. Bunch of work.
    What kind of speed do you need? Back in the day what the drivers were doing with these flathead six engines for the most part was adding 2 or 3 carbs, dual exhaust & perhaps a 3/4 grind street cam. Big improvement in performance without an engine & tranny change.