Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Starter button wiring

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by topher5150, May 21, 2020.

  1. topher5150
    Joined: Feb 10, 2017
    Posts: 1,908

    topher5150
    Member

    I don't know what the technical term is but someone mentioned using a starting button. Do I just run the two wires to the starter relay?

    Sent from my moto z4 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  2. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,099

    squirrel
    Member

    Might depend what kind of starter it is, and what kind of relay it is, etc. I expect someone knows the answers to these questions from reading all your other threads, but not all of us do.
     
    41rodderz and firstinsteele like this.
  3. rusty valley
    Joined: Oct 25, 2014
    Posts: 1,505

    rusty valley
    Member

    some starter buttons ground the circuit to the solenoid, some send power to it. what do you have?
     
  4. JUSTIN PERSINGER
    Joined: Apr 28, 2020
    Posts: 95

    JUSTIN PERSINGER
    Member

    In order to start your vehicle, you will still have to a switched 12V power to your ignition. Either with the ignition switch, toggle switch or whatever you want.
    As far as the starter button, you can really use any Normally open momentary contact button.
    You can set it up for a push button or a pull switch and if you run this to a starter relay you can pretty much use anything. This is because the relay will take the amp load not the button.
    In my old 1930 model A roadster I just had a pull lever on a spring that when I pulled it I engaged a set of contacts that enabled the starter solenoid.


    Sent from my XP8800 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. klawockvet
    Joined: May 1, 2012
    Posts: 375

    klawockvet
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Fords in the later thirties and forties were 6 volt and had starter buttons. The used a solenoid between the battery and starter. The solenoid was activated by a button that connected to ground. Most of the later cars and set ups use a 12 volts system. If you want to use a switch and starter button that looks like the early systems you need a solenoid that operates by a wire going to ground. My 40 is 12 volt and uses a grounding solenoid so only one wire goes to the button. My Model A is 12 volt and uses a starter button that brings power back to the solenoid requiring two wires. My 47 is stock 6 volt and uses a one wire starter button that goes to ground. Its not rocket science, every combination is possible.
     
  6. topher5150
    Joined: Feb 10, 2017
    Posts: 1,908

    topher5150
    Member

    I have nothing. I wanted to rig something up temporarily so I don't fry my ass hot wiring it with a screw driver
    Sent from my moto z4 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  7. rusty valley
    Joined: Oct 25, 2014
    Posts: 1,505

    rusty valley
    Member

    well, you must have something or you wouldnt be trying to start it! what car ya got? how many volts?
     
  8. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,099

    squirrel
    Member

    is it a Chevy engine?
     
  9. 41rodderz
    Joined: Sep 27, 2010
    Posts: 4,705

    41rodderz
    Member
    from Oregon

    Time out . Starter buttons are used on race cars all the time as are toggle switches. Research that on the web . You will uncover diagrams that will show you.
     
    topher5150 likes this.
  10. 41rodderz
    Joined: Sep 27, 2010
    Posts: 4,705

    41rodderz
    Member
    from Oregon

    Are you talking about the 1947 Ford coupe or something else? Tell the rest of us unwashed what specifics you are working on ?
     
  11. goldmountain
    Joined: Jun 12, 2016
    Posts: 1,818

    goldmountain

    Use a momentary switch to the same contact points you were doing before with your screwdriver.

    Sent from my SM-T350 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  12. topher5150
    Joined: Feb 10, 2017
    Posts: 1,908

    topher5150
    Member

    Sorry yes my 47 ford with a 351w
    Sent from my moto z4 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  13. Boneyard51
    Joined: Dec 10, 2017
    Posts: 4,018

    Boneyard51
    Member

    You probably have a starter relay, just use a momentary push button switch and jump from battery stud to start stud on the relay!








    Bones
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
  14. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,099

    squirrel
    Member

    Battery cable connects to one big terminal on the Ford starter relay. Other big terminal connects to the big terminal on the Ford starter (I'm assuming you're using a normal Ford starter that does not have a solenoid can on it). The small S terminal connects to one side of your two terminal push button switch. Connect a smaller wire from the big terminal that the battery cable connects to, to the other side of the push button switch.

    push the button, it sends power to the S terminal, which closes the relay, and connects the starter wire to the battery...wah wah wah...
     
    topher5150 likes this.
  15. BLACKNRED
    Joined: May 8, 2010
    Posts: 306

    BLACKNRED
    Member

    He might be using a late model (2016) doo flangy starter button, who knows???
     
  16. rusty valley
    Joined: Oct 25, 2014
    Posts: 1,505

    rusty valley
    Member

    early ford starter buttons go to ground. you need one that sends power to signal a modern solenoid.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.