Register now to get rid of these ads!

Speedway Flathead Aluminum Water Pumps

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jrblack30, Jul 24, 2012.

1. nobody has used these pumps?

2. 36tbird

36tbird

I hate it, too, when you post something and no one responds. Been there, done that.

Why in the world would anyone want exorbitantly priced, aluminum flathead water pumps? Only thing I can think of is to put them on an equally exorbitantly priced aluminum flathead block with astronomically priced Ardun repro heads.

3. bobscogin

bobscogin

You can get the cast iron version for about $90 each. The Bob Drake pumps are pretty good too for similar money on sale. Why would you need aluminum for crazy money?

Bob

4. I'm a flathead noob, but my logic is wondering if maybe it's for those trying to squeeze out every last bit of cooling from their flatties?

5. Rem

Rem

I'd wondered about these when I first saw them, and my cynical mind decided they were the result of cheap aluminium castings being so easy to get hold of in China, possibly easier than quality cast iron ones.

6. Tommy's Cycle

Tommy's Cycle
    from So Cal

I've had good luck with their cast ones.

7. metalman

metalman

I think the idea is eye candy. I admit I would of thought hard about buying them if they were availible when I built the motor in my avatar. I really wanted chrome pullys at least, the "new" water pumps have cast pullies that won't chrome and the set of press steel pullys I had chrome won't fit so I ended up rebuilding a set of originals, so far so good but I'd perfer the new ones with better seals ect. I spent enough time and $$$ dressing out my flathead a few extra dollars wouldn't made that much differance, no more then ponying up for the Powergen.

8. 1971BB427

1971BB427
    from Oregon

Aren't we supposed to just bash anything that's sold by Speedway? ;)

9. Tommy's Cycle

Tommy's Cycle
    from So Cal