Register now to get rid of these ads!

Source for custom match touch up paints?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by EchoOfGecko, Dec 30, 2010.

1. EchoOfGecko

EchoOfGecko

Hi all,

Does anyone know of a source for custom matched touch up paints, preferably aerosol cans and paint pens?

Unfortunately I don't know the paint code for my color. I believe it's Dupont Hot Hues Blue Mood, but this is just a guess based on info I had when I bought her. It appears to be satin out of the can rather than a base/clear but I'm a noob regarding paint. I'm having a hell of a time finding a retailer or local body shop around Portland that carries Hot Hues anymore.

Does anyone know of a place that can custom match a sample and spit out a spray can and or paint pen? I found a couple places on line but they seemed to be geared towards industrial applications and had minimum orders of like 40+ cans.

What do other people do for touch-up paints? My only other guess would be a body shop, I'm just worried how much this would cost and how good the match would be.

[​IMG]

2. 61 Fairlane

61 Fairlane

This wont help you much, but in Milwaukee , Wisconsin there's a a paint store that I ran across. If you gave him the gas door, or for the interior, the ash tray, he would mix you up a few spray cans. I dont remember the cost, or the number of cans but it was something like a 3 or 4 can min and it was around 20 bucks or so a can. It matched perfect.
    Contact a automotive paint store in your area, they must know someone close to you that does the same thing

Elcohaulic likes this.
  3. maniac

maniac

There is a parts sotre here in Ct that has a machine that scans a part and can reproduce the paint in a spray can, the can runs around $25 bucks, and once the number is in the system, he can make as many cans as you like.

I gave him a part off an O/T truck I have and he was dead on with the match, I mean DEAD ON !

4. OGS41

OGS41