Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Something Something 56 Ford

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by tin_duke, Sep 24, 2014.

1. tin_duke

tin_duke
    from redlands

Well I have made the next of my questionable decisions in regards to what I use as a daily driver and have picked up a 1956 Ford Fairlane. It runs well, rides alright and looks very pretty. I'd like to add a bit more power/economy to it so I plan on doing an electronic ignition conversion and am flirting with the idea of dropping a Holley Terminator set up into it down the road. There is a 272 in it right now, but I found a 292 with 312 heads needing a rebuild for about $500. is that a good deal or the right direction to go? I'm new to Y-Blocks so any tips or advice is welcome and appreciated.

More photos to come

Attached Files:

2. craftscustoms

craftscustoms

efi and electronic ignition may or may not help much. It would take a long time to pay for its self. Overdrive and a good tune-up would help more with economy. 56 y-block distributors have a weird vacuum advance setup that needs the right carb to work properly. If it were me I would probably put in a mild sbf with an overdrive trans.

3. How is the 272 equipped? Install dual exhaust, a '57-up distributor with a pertronics conversion, and a small four barrel carb and it will surprise you with it's power and economy. Even better if the car has a 3-sp/OD trans....

The EFI will do little, better to spend the money elsewhere.

4. My first car was a 56 Fairlane. Loved the old beast. You can improve the performance, but it was my experience that the old Y-block just never would give decent mileage. Some of that I imagine was my lead foot at 16 years old. I agree that an overdrive trans would help. Also agree that changing to a 57 up distributor and later design 4 barrel would probably help. 312 heads off of a 56 will not be any good to you. You need the heads from a 1957-58-59 y-block to get the big valves.