Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Someone Stole My Fuse Box

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Falconewbie, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Falconewbie

Falconewbie
    from Dallas, TX

Alright, so I should clarify this now — My car knowledge is limited. I can change my own oil, spark plugs, read a shop manual, follow directions, etc., but I have no real knowledge to speak of. So please don't make fun. Moving on.

I just picked up a 1961 Ford Falcon automatic, and it's fantastic, barring a few issues. The biggest right now that's going to keep me from passing inspection is the turn signals not working. Currently, the turn signals don't work, the radio doesn't work, and the brake lights only work if I have the headlights turned on. I went to search for the fuse box and found - nothing. Just a bunch of jumbled wires, which when "jiggled" caused the ignition to stop working, so I had to "jiggle" them again in order to start the car.

Any advice on getting the turn signals operational? I can send/take any pics needed. Thanks!

2. davidbistolas

davidbistolas

Dude. if you 'jiggle' a bunch of wires and crap stops working, then you need to rewire the car.

You have a short. Probably multiple shorts. And if you want those shorts to go away, and avoid soiling yours- you really need to put in a new harness. Jiggling a bunch of wires to get the ignition to work is a good way to burn your car to the rims.

I wouldn't trust the electrical at this point.

You have some options. IF you're electrically savvy- then you can start chasing the gremlins with a tester. But even the best of us would get quickly frustrated with that.

The other option is to pick up an aftermarket wiring harness - Rebel comes to mind. Remove all of the old harness, and rewire the car from scratch, front to rear. That's also a daunting task, but it's the less daunting of the two I mention here.

Welcome to the board, by the way.

3. cshades

cshades
    from wi