Register now to get rid of these ads!

Some questions regarding 57-60 Ford F100 trucks

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HotRod60F100, Jul 21, 2004.

1. HotRod60F100

HotRod60F100

OK i am pretty familier with anything 1970 on up and now that i'm a newbie on here and most here are into everything pre 1970 i have some questions about my 60 F100 292 Y block V8 with a 3 on the tree,first off just what trans do i have?Borg Warner?ect.also is the stock rear i have good enough for a beefed up motor?i'm sure its not the much desired 9 inch and if it is its prob pretty archaic.If i decide to stick with my 292,is it worth it to maybe beef up?this thing won't be no barn burner but i want it to have a lil balls and who makes a rebuild kit for the 272-312?also how hard is it to raise up the straight front axle a lil bit?Thank you for any answers for my questions.

2. Deyomatic

Deyomatic
    from CT

Well, start by hitting up www.yblocksforever.com, and check out the forums.
    Also check out the yahoogroup on Yblocks at www.yahoogroups.com, alot of answers from people there, it is just another message forum.

While you are at it, check out
    http://www.ford-y-block.com/ They'll have all your rebuild stuff and it is generally a great site for info.

You will also be very surprised with how much stuff your local NAPA dealer will have- mostly any gasket you'll need. Anything ignition related is available anywhere. They are good engines. I have one in my '55.

Now, you SHOULD have a 9" in your truck, and it should be plenty strong. Alot of people still search out the 1957 9" rears to put in 55-56s, so I'm sure your 1960 TRUCK model can handle what you can dish out, certainly what that Y block will dish out.
    How beefed up do you want to go? You'll have to check out that second site I listed, John Mummert's for good info on that. I think the beefiest Yblock is around 500 HP, but that just a guess. Most are in the 200-350 range, that I've seen.