Register now to get rid of these ads!
  1. NEW MERCH!!!!!!

Hey guys... It's that time of the year again and we are introducing some new shirts in the Jalopy Journal store - including our first ever pocket shirt! So, if you are in the need for some new threads go here:
    The Jalopy Journal Store
    Dismiss Notice

Featured History So where did all the fur come from on the dash?

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Roothawg, May 17, 2018 at 1:31 PM.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

So, I am a custom newbie and I have been researching a car that I really like.

https://www.kustomrama.com/index.php?title=Jerry_Koller's_1955_Ford

I have never understood the origins of the angel hair or fuzzy dashes. Guys spend so much time smoothing everything to be crisp and clean and then glue a bunch of dept store fur on the dash.

What's up with that? Not saying it's wrong, just not my bag. I like pleats and rolls.

2. DDDenny

DDDenny
    from oregon

Ha, and I wondered for years about chromed glove box doors:rolleyes:

lothiandon1940 likes this.
  3. flatheadpete

flatheadpete
    from Burton, MI

Chrome glove box doors come from the chrome shop. Furry stuff comes from the fur shop.

rjones35, czuch, Stooge and 4 others like this.
  4. J. A. Miller

J. A. Miller
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Central NY

I think the chrome glove box doors were so you could see the furry stuff (at least they were furry back in the day).

Register now to get rid of these ads!

5. Deuces

Deuces
    from Michigan

I prefer woodgrain and a teak steering wheel.....:cool:

scotty t likes this.
  6. HOLY SHIT HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

7. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

seems kinda goofy in hindsight. I'm sure all the build ideas of today will stand the test of time... right?

dana barlow, Roothawg and lurker mick like this.
  8. Engine man

Engine man
    from Wisconsin

It started the way all trends start. Somebody does something to be different and others copy it.