Register now to get rid of these ads!

Sixties dragcars.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Sailor, Sep 23, 2005.

1. Sailor

Sailor

In short I want to learn more about sixties dragcars. I know some of you guys have plenty of race-experience to answer this:

When the sixties super stockers are discussed, -its offcourse allways the engines which is the issue. Cammer vs. Max Vedge vs 409 vs Super Duty etc... This is about the rest of the car:

Which stock-ish cars were best suited for the drags chassiswise in the streetlegal classes back then. I ask because in stock form some of these cars had coilsprings, some had leafsprings, and I would expect some stuff to work better than other.

If the mill is identical; -which sixties cars works best for dragracing and why.

Thanks

2. Mike

Mike

I'm no expert, but it seems that lighter weight was a big factor.

The '63-'65 full sized Mopars kicked ass big time. They were light weight, uni-body with parallel leaf spung rears and coil sprung fronts, plus giant hemi and wedge motors. (front suspensions on the Mopars were actually torsion bar, Doh! I knew that)

Of course there was the mid-sized '64 Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt. Again, light weight, uni-body with parallel leafs and coils and a big old cammer stuffed into them.

The "compact" '64 & '65 Falcons and Comets had a lot of success. Also unibody, parallel leafs and coils, plus cammers stuffed into them.

One of the big, heavy cars that was also very successful was the '63 Z11 Impala. Full sized, full framed, coil springs all around and the Z11 427 W block motor (my favorite). Unfortunately, Chevy ended it's factory drag racing program after '63. Imagine how a Z11 powered '64 Chevelle might have done.

3. Larry T

Larry T