Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Simple tech tips to make building easier

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HOTRODPRIMER, Jun 13, 2019.

1. I learn this little trick a long time ago but it is a quick and easy way to find the correct radiator hoses for you hot rod or custom.

The unassuming aluminum collapsible VW heater exchange hoses are excellent for mocking up your radiator hoses, they expand and flex to hold their shape when set in place and you can then take them to your favorite parts house and use the pattern to find the right fit fit for your car or truck.

I suggest you buy 2 that way you can use them for the top & bottom hoses, and they are cheap and reusable, I've been using mine for at least 15 years. HRP

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

bobbytnm, brianf31, brEad and 20 others like this.
  2. Fell free to add your tech tip. HRP

BigChief and dana barlow like this.
  3. DDDenny

DDDenny
    from oregon

Not that I have done it but this could help plot out intricate header paths, roll bars too.

j-jock, dana barlow and HOTRODPRIMER like this.
  4. That make sense. HRP

dana barlow likes this.

5. Not that this is new or revolutionary.......more common sense than anything else.......I use card board to template all my fabricated brackets, mounts, etc. Easy to trim as a mock-up, then trace the pattern on steel or aluminum for final configuration.

6. Poster board works well also. HRP

7. dana barlow

dana barlow
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks

8. Tri-power37

Tri-power37