Register now to get rid of these ads!

Show me the way 1940 rear in 1929 model A

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 303racer, Jun 26, 2009.

1. 303racer

303racer

I know this is a amateur question but what needs to be done to put a 1940 rear in a 29 model A using a model a spring and v8 halibrand centersection I have never done this before and know alot of you guys have.

any or all help would be great thanks

Last edited: May 8, 2023
  2. srosa707

srosa707
    from Sacramento

I put a 41 Merc rear in my coupe. It needed to be cut down almost 24 inches. I had Bear Metal Kustoms do it.

3. You can put the A spring on the '40 rear with the stock bones, but it will move the wheels up about three inches. I haven't tried to search but that might be the option, or pick up the book everyone recommends, "How To Build Early Ford Hot Rods" -

4. TexasHardcore

TexasHardcore
    from Austin-ish

Tardel/Bishop Book "How To Build A Traditional Ford Hot Rod" explains it in further detail.

Use the 40 Banjo Rearend & Wishbones. Use the Model A Rear Spring. Buy a pair of ductile steel spring hangers and weld them to the top of the axle housings. Done.

5. Yep, I meant that book, sorry.

6. With the model A spring behind the 40 rear ,the frame needs to be extended 7 1\2 inches.

7. This is how I did it.

Attached Files:

8. Wildfire

Wildfire

Spring on top of the axle, like a model A - no chassis lengthening. However, you can't get as low without stepping the frame, reversing the spring eyes and you have to weld spring hangers on as described by TexasHardCore - get them from Pete & Jakes through Riley Auto