Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Shortening up a 5.0 - 302

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Old First Timer, Mar 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old First Timer

Old First Timer

Hi, I'm new to this even though I'm 71 years old - I bought a 31 Ford five window coupe and trying to build my first street rod- hoping I live long enough to actually get a ride in it.My current issue is that I purchased a 85 mustang to get the 5.0 302 drive train to transplant into the coupe - I would like to shorten up the motor and had read on here somewhere before about using a Bronco or Explorer water pump and pulleys but I have been unable to locate the information -any help with this would be appreciated - I know that there are kits out there but I'm on a tight budget and would like to do this with off the shelf parts -THANKS

2. OLDSMAN

OLDSMAN

Ford never made any other short water pumps. There is an aftermarket pump, but I can't remember who makes it

3. 36cab

36cab
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

4. Bob Labla

Bob Labla
    from mitten

Late 90's 5.0 Explorer water pump. You may have to use the timing chain cover as well. I used it in my '40, but it is a serpentine system, and I had to make my own brackets for the alternator, etc. The factory 5.0 brackets are really ugly.

Tim and ffr1222k like this.
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

5. Bob Labla

Bob Labla
    from mitten

6. If your starting from scratch some version of this is a better route. I did not build this Coupe, I was just playing Dr.
    20150904_153419.jpg

Boneyard51 likes this.
  7. tjm73

tjm73

You have two options if you want to use available everywhere for serviceability parts. Both options were OEM setups. Both have what Ford calls reverse rotation water pumps. They cannot run standard rotation water pumps. Both are a use all or nothing affair.