Register now to get rid of these ads!

Sheetmetal Intake

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by tsm1mt, Jan 22, 2008.

1. tsm1mt

tsm1mt
    from Helena, MT

I've been doing some research on building a sheetmetal intake, and have even taken the plunge and started in on things.

My "hotrod" isn't a 30s or 40s odd-ball something or other.. a bit more modern, but at the same time rather odd/uncommon.

I'm building an International Harvester 304V8. I've been running this motor for 8 years in a short-course "desert" style racer.

There are few "hot-rod" parts available for this series of engine, so you have to rely on the "old" methods.

(My tow motor is an offset-ground (stroked) IHC 392)

This engine has been ported, the bottom end lightened and balanced, decked extensively to get out of the boring 8:1 stock squeeze, etc.

The stock dual-plane cast iron intake manifold weighs around 60lbs. There is an aluminum casting version that recently became available that's ~20lbs, but aside from injector bosses and the availability of a 4bbl, it's a recast of the original in aluminum (still a dual plane).

I've been talking of building a sheetmetal intake for years, and a buddy finally called me on it, and even came by last weekend to make sure I got started on it.

After far too many hours with the plasma and die-grinder cutting out the intake flanges (Ugh, next time, I send it out to a water-jet).. here's where I'm at.

(This is a spare block and heads, not the ones I'm going to run)

[​IMG]

The rectangles go across for the water passages, and I'll add a longitudinal to make an "I" shape to almost finish the coolant setup.

I need to add a mount for the thermostat and bypass housing to the front, which won't be too bad other than perching the cast-iron stockers on top of my light-gauge intake.

You can see my first two mock-up runners. 1.5x1.5x.065 square (intake ports are ~ 1.375x1.375).