Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Setting up 4 link front and rear

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dubie, Feb 10, 2016.

1. dubie

dubie

Hey guys, I'm going to start mocking up the front and rear 4 link on this 1930 Model A chassis this weekend and could use a few pointers. I've read that you should set the bars parallel at ride height, does that apply to the front as well as the rear? And is it parallel to the frame or to the ground?
    I'm going to run coil overs on all 3 corners with panhard bars to keep the side to side action at bay.

Any tips and tricks you could lend a guy?

2. jetnow1

jetnow1
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from CT
    1. A-D Truckers

I am no expert but I would think that parallel to each other, if it is parallel to either the frame or the ground would be a function of how the bracket on the frame is mounted vs the batwing on the axle. Simple geometry would seem to
    indicate that as long as they are the same length and parallel they should function as designed. Of course it was 45
    years since I took geometry.

3. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

post pics of your car, and parts that you are going to install - what brand kit(s) are you using? have you contacted manufacturer, or distributor for installation instructions? what front axle & rearend? etc

4. DSCN0763.JPG
    Parallel

dubie likes this.

5. I like the wish bone over the pannard bar. Also if you are putting in the effort for a four link do your self a favor and add a anti rollbar.

6. LOL
    Only about 10 years since my last geometry class and I believe you are correct sir.

As long as the links are parallel to each other they will function properly. Parallel to the ground or the chassis would make for a different aesthetic and maybe someone would take that into account but for pure function @jetnow1 has a fair handle on it.