Register now to get rid of these ads!

SDRA car in Houston

Discussion in 'HA/GR' started by butch nassau, Apr 15, 2009.

1. butch nassau

butch nassau

So. I've been collecting stuff for a couple of months now and it's finally in a pile that looks like the other pictures of build-starts.

The engine is a 1959 Chevrolet 235. The transmission is a turbo 350 and the two are coupled with an adapter from Langston.

The rear end is a 1972 Jeep Commando with a factory-stock 3.73 gear.

Steering gearbox is 1972 Mopar "bullet". Steering wheel is 10" Ebay purchase.

Driver is 1942 model.

I'll be asking for help because some of this stuff seems not to fit exactly right.

Attached Files:

2. 64 DODGE 440

64 DODGE 440
    from so cal

Looks like ya got a good start on the project. Keep us posted on your progress.

3. Old6rodder

Old6rodder
    from SoCal
    1. HA/GR owners group

Looks good so far. Most of the bits and pieces'll likely take a spot of cobbling at any rate, but that's the fun of the build.

Just a personal opinion but I think our own team's first year "boomer" series ('46) driver is a tad better'n our '42 model (take that, Russ :p). :D

4. 348chevy

348chevy

I know you already have it but the Turbo 350 is going to rob you of some HP over a glide. If the oportunity comes your way to trade the 350 for a glide take it. You will have a light weight car that doesn't need the extra gear that the turbo has. Otherwise congrats on another great start and hope to see you at the track soon.:) Roy

5. MeteorMan

MeteorMan

Watch out for the splinters on that seat!

6. butch nassau

butch nassau

Yes, I'm aware of the parasitic loss.

I've seen some believable figures that said a Turbo 350 soaks up 31 to 33 horsepower while a Powerglide consumes 15 to 18.

But, a friend gave me the 350 and I can change it later. I decided that if I try to get everything just right I'll never get it built.

7. 348chevy

348chevy