Register now to get rid of these ads!

Scratch-built '32 grill shell...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by lowtruck, Jul 8, 2012.

1. lowtruck

lowtruck
    from Omaha

[FONT=&quot]I’ll be the first to admit that this was a little crazy. It would make far more sense to just order a reproduction deuce shell for a couple hundred and be done with it, but that’s not really what this was about. I’m a student in the auto restoration program at McPherson College in Kansas, and as such have access to a well equipped shop and the desire to learn as much as possible while I’m there. So this was really more of a learning exercise than anything else. [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]This thread isn’t really meant to be a “how to make your own at home” kind of deal, but if anyone wants to try it, this might give you some ideas. [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]I must start by thanking my pal Ryan (oldsboy here on the hamb), who was kind enough to loan me his repro shell to be used as a pattern/buck. [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]After much hemming and hawing over where to begin, I started with the inside upper corners, first bending them in the brake to form the lip that the insert will sit against, then using the hand shrinker to make the curve. [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][​IMG][/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Once that was close, I started forming the reverse curve, first using a hammer and a stake in the bench vise, then moving on the the planishing hammer with a lateral stretching die in the bottom and a slightly crowned die in the top. (I guess I didn't get any pictures of that part, I was having too much fun playing with the loud tool.)[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]At that point it was close enough to move on to the next piece, trimming and final fitting would come later. It may not look like much at this point, but I was pretty darn thrilled to have the first little piece done. [/FONT]