Register now to get rid of these ads!

School me on magnetos

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ratty_aussie, Jul 30, 2013.

1. Hey guys as the topics suggests, what are pros and cons of running a mag on a ford flathead v8? I'm very new to that sort of thing.

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

2. blowby

blowby
    from Nicasio Ca

This should be interesting. I have never run a magneto or a car but lots of them on motorcycles. As you probably know magnetos create their own electricity (spinning magnet and coil, or vice versa), and the faster they spin the hotter the spark. Spark at starting speeds can be weak, that is why airplane magnetos have impulse couplings that actually snap the magneto around to help with the "spin". Maybe car magnetos have it too?

3. racer756

racer756

I run a magneto on a street driven Corvair. Never had an issue. Car runs like a champ and the cool factor is worth it. I will also run a mag on my 324 Olds powered, coupe that is under construction .

4. Pete1

Pete1
    from Wa.

I will assume you are talking about street use.
    I have run H&C mags on several street engines. They work fine. They start easily.
    If you have an engine with a lot of compression, it will sometimes try to kick back when starting and bend the starter shaft or break the bendix spring if you are using a stock starter. A gear drive starter remedies this.
    The problem with the H&C mag is, no mechanical advance. Set it about 23 for the street and forget it. This a slight compromise for top performance or gas mileage.
    A way around this is to modify an Offy lead plate to take a twist lock type choke cable.
    You can play with the advance as you drive then.
    I have never run a Vertex type mag but some of them have mechanical advance in them and that would be good for the street. They start easily also.

5. racer5c

racer5c