Register now to get rid of these ads!

Running new brake lines

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dirtbag63, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. dirtbag63
    Joined: Nov 26, 2006
    Posts: 26

    dirtbag63
    Member

    Just installed a dual master cylinder on my 54 Bel Air. I noticed that there are two different size brake lines under my car, not sure why. Should I do any modification since I am going to a dual set up, or just use the existing lines? Thanks,

    Dirtbag63
     
  2. 54fierro
    Joined: Jul 6, 2006
    Posts: 493

    54fierro
    Member
    from san diego

    It would be a good idea to replace them as they are going on 60 yrs old. Stock is 3/16 to the front and 1/4 to the rear, but if i were redoing everything i would run 3/16 the whole way. Cesar
     
  3. When in doubt, throw it out. Most anything newer is plumbed in 3/16 from what I've seen. If the lines look clean and not rusted, then you have a judgement call on whether to replace them.

    Bob
     
  4. metalix_421
    Joined: Mar 24, 2010
    Posts: 890

    metalix_421
    Member

    just take a look at them, my 56 looks good and plan to run the 55 year old lines but like said above use your best judgement.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. KJSR
    Joined: Mar 7, 2008
    Posts: 2,173

    KJSR
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Utah
    1. Utah HAMBers

    I have mixed sizes on both of my cars. Seems to work fine...
     
  6. Dane
    Joined: May 6, 2010
    Posts: 1,353

    Dane
    Member
    from Soquel, CA

    I never trust 50+ year old brake line.

    Here is the best line I've ever used. It's a copper-nickel 90-10 and looks great on old cars. Best part is it's easy to double flare, even with the cheapo flare tools.

    http://store.fedhillusa.com/cnf3a.aspx
     
  7. deeddude
    Joined: Aug 30, 2011
    Posts: 127

    deeddude
    Member

    I'm currently doing the same. I'm replacing the lines with 3/16". Should be fine. I did this on a few stock cars and they all worked great. The last one I did I use a corvette master for disk all around, stops fine. I should finish the 54's brakes this weekend,I used a master from a 67 camaro for drums. I'll let you know how it works out.
     
  8. 40FordGuy
    Joined: Mar 24, 2008
    Posts: 2,908

    40FordGuy
    Member

    Old steel ,...rust,.... Just put in all new,...Safer that way .

    4TTRUK
     
  9. Cruiser
    Joined: May 29, 2006
    Posts: 2,240

    Cruiser
    Member

    Since it's your life, new lines are the only way to go in this case.

    CRUISER :cool:
     
  10. Doctor Detroit
    Joined: Aug 12, 2010
    Posts: 1,004

    Doctor Detroit
    Member

    Check out Poly-Armour Steel lines or NiCopp brake lines. Available at NAPA. The Poly-Armour is priced pretty reasonably. I've been researching this because I'm about ready to run new lines on mine. They come in straight lengths of 8", 12", 20", 30", 40", 51", 60", (and some 72" or 84"). They also have the fittings installed on both ends, and you can bend them by hand, or the $15 Speedway bender.

    http://www.agscompany.com/faq
    http://www.agscompany.com/automotive/brake-fuel-transmission-lines/poly-armour
    http://www.agscompany.com/automotive/brake-fuel-transmission-lines/nicopp
     
  11. ArtofHotRod
    Joined: Feb 26, 2008
    Posts: 464

    ArtofHotRod
    Member

    A shot of the new lines on my 54 Chevy
     

    Attached Files:

  12. alicia-dusty
    Joined: Feb 26, 2009
    Posts: 147

    alicia-dusty
    Member

    It's not always just age I just replaced 2 lines on my '98 dodge pu. Don't cheap on brakes or steering. And brake lines are cheap.
    and
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.