Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Rochester BC carb leaks fuel. What's going on here?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Six-Shooter, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Six-Shooter

Six-Shooter
    from Ohio

I have a '57 Rochester BC carb on the Chevy 235 in my T-bucket. Lately, after sitting a couple of days I find fuel has leaked from the carb (I believe from around the accelerator pump - see photos). I'll clean it up, run the engine, and don't notice any leaking fuel while under power. However, let it sit again for a couple of days and the fuel leak returns. Any thoughts as to what is going on. Also, should I rebuild the carb (I've never done one before) or replace the Rochester BC with something else. If so, what do you recommend? Thanks!!!

Attached Files:

2. choppedtudor

choppedtudor

could be the float is set too high, no outside adjuster screw on those carbs, need to bend the float arm to adjust per specs in rebuild kit. Also recheck your fuel pressure.

3. gas pumper

gas pumper

And for ethanol fuel, it's density is lower than old gasoline, so I found that 3/16 lower float height helps get the fuel level better. Helps the leaking, but won't stop it. It's traditional Rochester patina!

4. theburningbush

theburningbush
    from Tacoma WA