Register now to get rid of these ads!

Reversed Corvair steering box, what column?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by suede55bowtie, Sep 7, 2009.

1. I ran into a snag with building my little roadster, and found out I cannot run my F100 steering box and column due to absolutely NO space with stock frame rails and Y-Block. Did some head scratching and came to the conclusion that I need a reversed corvair box. The problem I have now is, what column to run with it? Im still learning about these boxes (and building hot rods in general) and need help.

Can anyone post pictures or information about what theyre running in their hot rods? Are any companies making a column that goes well with this box? Need help!

Thanks guys...

2. Splinter

Splinter

Speedway sells one that will work, but I'd contact Limeworks in Whittier. Theirs is the shiznit, looks great, and can be shortened fairly easily if you're retarded like me and get the wrong size column. Plus, it mates up nicely to their 40 Ford wheel. Just my $.02.

3. langy

langy
    Member Emeritus

You can make your own column very easily, I used some stainless tube for the outside and 3/4" x 1/8" wall tube for the inner, a couple of bearings and a 5/8 - 36 spline uj to connect it to the box.

4. OoltewahSpeedShop

OoltewahSpeedShop

Speedway column with quick release wheel in my '31

Kevin
    Ooltewah Speed Shop

Attached Files:

5. hvychvy

hvychvy

I'm also using the speedway column.

6. american opel

american opel
    from ohio