Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Remote/Under Hood Starter Button?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by RMONTY, May 8, 2019.

  1. RMONTY
    Joined: Jan 7, 2016
    Posts: 1,300

    RMONTY
    Member

    I searched around but didn't find anything of interest. Has anyone installed any sort of starter button in their engine compartment for convenience? If so, do you have pictures of your setup? It seems like it would be real handy when tuning and working alone. And it would save a screwdriver! I was thinking of installing one for my 235 that is going in my Sedan Delivery.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  2. Oldioron
    Joined: Dec 12, 2018
    Posts: 722

    Oldioron
    Member

    I've got one with alligator clips on about three feet of wire. Great for adjusting valves.
     
    porknbeaner, loudbang and tb33anda3rd like this.
  3. LM14
    Joined: Dec 18, 2009
    Posts: 1,556

    LM14
    Member
    from Iowa

    We always had a race car style starter button mounted on the firewall, dead center left/right, on all our race cars. Let me adjust the valves or start the engines unassisted. Nothing fancy, just a weather tite push button where it was easily reached.
    SPark

    100_1846.2.jpg
     
    rockable, loudbang, egads and 3 others like this.
  4. miker98038
    Joined: Jan 24, 2011
    Posts: 394

    miker98038
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    The problem with a permanent one under the hood is some idiot is going to push it. Either when the engines running, or when the car’s in gear. Probably when you’re in front of it. Neat idea, maybe on a race car. I’d at least have a switch in front of it.
     
    OLSKOOL57, winduptoy and RMONTY like this.
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. mohead1
    Joined: Jan 18, 2013
    Posts: 547

    mohead1
    Member

    I bought a remote starter switch/button many many years ago....maybe a Craftsman. Long lead...alligator clips...trigger type button. Excellent for bumping engine over for valve adjustment, leak-down testing, and other assorted things. Very handy
    Looks like this one (without going out to shop to take a pic) which is an Actron from Sears

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  6. dwollam
    Joined: Oct 22, 2012
    Posts: 772

    dwollam
    Member

    My '40 Ford still has it's original starter button on the solenoid. My Avatar has one too, installed in 1958.

    Dave
     
    RMR&C, loudbang, clem and 2 others like this.
  7. Remote starters are inexpensive and convenient. I've had this one for so long I can't remember just how much I did pay for it. 20190509_050216.jpg
     
  8. oldolds
    Joined: Oct 18, 2010
    Posts: 2,689

    oldolds
    Member

    Some Studebakers had a remote start on the solenoid. Prob the same as the above Fords. You need to be careful as they bypass the neutral safety switch and you can't depress the clutch pedal from under the hood! Cars start on the first revolution when they are in gear!
     
    loudbang, RMONTY, clem and 1 other person like this.
  9. Truckdoctor Andy
    Joined: Jan 13, 2017
    Posts: 707

    Truckdoctor Andy
    Member

    Some of the cab over Mitsubishi trucks had them for maintenance purposes, they were somewhat hidden, you had to look for them. Very handy, but YOU had to make sure the truck was not in gear.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  10. egads
    Joined: Aug 23, 2011
    Posts: 472

    egads
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    These work well--[​IMG]
     
    Truckdoctor Andy, loudbang and RMONTY like this.
  11. RMONTY
    Joined: Jan 7, 2016
    Posts: 1,300

    RMONTY
    Member

    That is a slick little setup.
     
    loudbang and egads like this.
  12. khead47
    Joined: Mar 29, 2010
    Posts: 1,530

    khead47
    Member

    As oldolds said, get an aftermarket ford type solenoid with a button.
     
    RMONTY likes this.
  13. boltupal
    Joined: Dec 27, 2010
    Posts: 252

    boltupal
    Member
    from western ny

    I had a mid 1970s caprice it came with a factory underhood starter button.
     
  14. Sod Buster
    Joined: Feb 28, 2019
    Posts: 150

    Sod Buster
    Member

    Button on the bottom of the solenoid of my 47.

    [​IMG]
     
    RMR&C, porknbeaner, loudbang and 4 others like this.
  15. Rickybop
    Joined: May 23, 2008
    Posts: 5,558

    Rickybop
    Member
    from Michigan

    Good idea. I like the Ford solenoid button. Didn't even know there was such a thing.
    How about a switch for the ignition too.
    Run both ignition and starter button through the neutral safety switch for safety.
     
    loudbang and alanp561 like this.
  16. dwollam
    Joined: Oct 22, 2012
    Posts: 772

    dwollam
    Member

    Having to go inside the car to turn on the ignition switch is a good safety thing to also make sure it is not in gear, unless of course you want to start it in gear and run through your garage or the neighbors dog or something. :)
    In all the years we've had the '40 I have never hit the solenoid button while in gear but I do have a hammered out dent in an otherwise perfect grille center bar on my '51 Coupe where I bumped the key start and hit a boat trailer. Years ago.....
     
    loudbang and RMONTY like this.
  17. Rusty O'Toole
    Joined: Sep 17, 2006
    Posts: 8,959

    Rusty O'Toole
    Member

    I've got one I made in the sixties, consists of a pushbutton and 2 wires with alligator clips stuck in a bicycle handgrip. Useful for doing tuneups, bumping the starter when adjusting valves and first starts.
     
  18. 26hotrod
    Joined: Nov 28, 2009
    Posts: 787

    26hotrod
    Member
    from landis n c

    When using a remote starter switch why don't we all take time to raise the rear tires off the ground with jack stands when we are working by ourselves. I just thought of this...…...
     
    Frankie47, loudbang, Bugguts and 2 others like this.
  19. RMONTY
    Joined: Jan 7, 2016
    Posts: 1,300

    RMONTY
    Member

    Probably a really good idea. I work alone and sometimes have to take a step back and say "is this a smart thing to do with no one around?" 99% of the time when I ask myself this, whatever that task is waits until I can get a buddy to come by to assist.
     
  20. RMONTY
    Joined: Jan 7, 2016
    Posts: 1,300

    RMONTY
    Member

    The 235 doesnt require a remote solenoid as the starter has one on it. The Sedan Delivery has a start button on the dash, so I will probably find a place to mount a button and wire it in parallel to the start button on the dash.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  21. gene-koning
    Joined: Oct 28, 2016
    Posts: 1,214

    gene-koning
    Member

    Back in my circle track days we had a remote start button, with a separate ignition off/on switch beside it. Sometimes you wanted to crank the motor without having a hot ignition, and sometimes you wanted a hot ignition with out cranking the motor.
    None of my current stuff has an under hood button. Gene
     
    loudbang likes this.
  22. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 25,027

    Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I've seen them on a couple of race rigs where you had to run the valves all the time. Wished I had had one on my 57 Panel with a 327 and Engle solid lifter cam and my 48 when I had the 283 with the 30-30 cam in it.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  23. porknbeaner
    Joined: Sep 12, 2003
    Posts: 40,967

    porknbeaner
    Member

    I bought a timing light setup from JC Whittney in the late '60s that came with a remote starter button. It was like 7 or 8 bucks plus shipping from them back then. It was basically like you describe looked like a bicycle hand grip with a push button switch and a couple of wires with a alligator clips.

    I have used the Ford solenoid with the push button before and if I recall I worked on an AMC that had that same basic setup before.
     
    lothiandon1940 likes this.
  24. slowmotion
    Joined: Nov 21, 2011
    Posts: 3,002

    slowmotion
    Member

    Had one since the early 70s, two leads & a squeeze type grip, still got it. A 'must have' if you're a solid lifter kinda guy who usually works alone. :cool:
     
  25. Truckdoctor Andy
    Joined: Jan 13, 2017
    Posts: 707

    Truckdoctor Andy
    Member

    I just remembered, coach buses used to have a “rear control panel” in the engine compartment. These often had an engine compartment light, ignition switch, oil pressure gauge, and remote starter button. Very helpful for doing tune ups on old Jimmy Diesels. Of course these predated the advent of the idiot proof shit. These were the days where if YOU failed to make sure the coach was in neutral, YOU were the f&$king moron, not the bus builder.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Frankie47 likes this.
  26. blowby
    Joined: Dec 27, 2012
    Posts: 5,828

    blowby
    Member
    from Nicasio Ca

    I was having starting issues on my Chevy daily awhile back, and ran an extra wire from the S term on the solenoid next to the positive cable up to the battery for testing. Just touched the wire to the positive terminal to start it. It's still there... Getting an alligator clip on that terminal with headers is a bear.
     
  27. japchris
    Joined: Apr 21, 2001
    Posts: 234

    japchris
    Member
    from England

  28. OLDSMAN
    Joined: Jul 20, 2006
    Posts: 1,762

    OLDSMAN
    Member

    Yes cars start in gear the first revolution. I had that happen to me years ago. I had just installed a rebuilt engine in a Ford pickup . I always used a remote starter, that way if I had to move the distributor to make it run right I wouldn't have to get out of the vehicle. This engine I had everything set perfectly, and started right up. I swore it was in neutral, but it wasn't. I had a helluva time getting it shut off. Needless to say the service manager wasn't too happy with me, because of the damage to the truck
     
    RMONTY and oldolds like this.
  29. blowby
    Joined: Dec 27, 2012
    Posts: 5,828

    blowby
    Member
    from Nicasio Ca

    That's neat! 6 volt only?
     
  30. For you nervous Nellie types :

    It’s possible to energize the starter without ignition power - it will not start.

    It’s possible to energize starter thru the neutral safety switch - starter will not energize

    It’s equally possible to energize both the starter and ignition system while bypassing the neutral safety switch and run yourself over, take down a wall in the garage and leave one hell of a mess for someone else to clean up while you’re in the hospital.
     
    Frankie47 and Pist-n-Broke like this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.