Register now to get rid of these ads!

Rear SUSPENSION MATERIALS list ???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bigd4xman, May 15, 2013.

1. SchlottyD

SchlottyD

Looking for some advice here. Working on my Model A with stock frame and spring and putting a Ford 8 inch with ladder bars and mounting the spring over the axle similar to stock.

This is my first time building this type of setup and need to know what I need for building the ladder bars, ladder bar mounts, spring and shock mounts materials wise. Also, what could be used to build a front crossmember. Thicknesses, how much, your experiences and pics would be helpful.

I know all this could be bought but times are tough, money is tight, and there is something to be said for doing it yourself rather than flip open a catalog and break out the plastic.

2. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I'd suggest looking at a number of "kits" similar to what you want to build and start writing your own materials list.
    The list isn't hard or long

Rod ends of choice.
    X ft/inches of tubing of the correct size
    Y sq ft of the correct thickness of flat plate for brackets
    And what ever else ends up on the list.

Price out the items on the list and compare said prices to kit prices from the vendors you already checked and compare the cost of building the pieces to the cost of buying them.

Also check one of our fellow HAMBers http://www.welderseries.com/ for pieces that are pre cut if you don't have access to facilities to cut the brackets.

3. evintho

evintho

I'm all about budget builds! Had quite a day at Pick-N-Pull. On my 'T' roadster I used '99 Land Rover Discovery trailing arms, $35 for the pair and mounted them to my 8" Maverick rear.

[​IMG]

Make your own brackets. I had some 5/16" steel laying around so I fashioned up the rears.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Made the fronts outta 1/4" plate.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]