Register now to get rid of these ads!

rack and pinion used with i beam axle..?heard there would be bump steer?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by old bone, Jul 31, 2011.

1. old bone

old bone
    from maine

ok..i did a search before before i posted and found nothing...maybe i missed something...trying to get away from the slop of traditional steering boxes..i also have laying around a rack and pinion set up from a 69' jag xke..that was my dad's so i would like to utilize the part ..i currently have it mocked up to the frame to a 46' ford i beam set up...some have mentioned if i do not mount it to the axle it self i will have bump steer??...this puzzles me because it was mounted to the subframe of the Jag so what is the difference?...im no engineer but it seems like it would work just fine mounted to the frame instead of the axle..any info or links would be appreciated..

2. maniac

maniac

Do another search, lots of info on this topic

3. 69fury

69fury

bump steer would come from the ends of the rack arms traveling in an arc as the axle moves up and down.

the least amount of bump steer for a traditional r/p steering would be a microscopically short rack in the middle of the car, making the tie rod ends equal length and as long as they could be (half the distance each)

since that's not possible, you then have to make one tie rod as long as you can by mounting the rack as far left as you can. Then you use a really long tie bar to have the pass tire control the driver's side tire.

I'd suggest one of those newer single sided rack from whosiewhatsit, but i've heard they dont handle much stress (search Shakypuddin and his gasser 55 build) his broke after the wheel stand.

I've thought about mounting a rack directly on the axle but the unsprung weight addition is the least of the issues. You'd need a telescoping steering shaft that can also handle the fore/aft motion of the axle.