Register now to get rid of these ads!

Questions about a Model A drop axle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by thepolecat, Apr 22, 2009.

1. thepolecat

thepolecat
    1. S.F.C.C.

Hey hambers-

I am still new to this kind of car building where everything is not plug and play. I have a 1930 Model A frame, a so cal front crossmember, and a superbell 4" drop front axle. I was about to put the stock A front tie rod on and it is about 3" too long (about the same length extra i had on the stock axle)

my few questions about it-
    1. should I cut it to length and use it or buy a modified one?
    2. Is there going to be an issue with clearnace for the sotck 4 banger motor that is going back in?
    3. is there a frame issue when the engine is put back in.
    4. though it looks so bad ass, is it going to be drivable- in other words is the rake going to be so bad i wont be able to corner well.

- like i said- i am very green to this kind of car building and i would love any help from the more experienced.

and if there is anything else you guys want to school me on that would be a huge help.

2. Zookeeper

Zookeeper

#1. You need to cut it. One side is right hand threads, the other is left hand threads, determine which is which, and cut off the right hand side, buy the right tap (11/16-UNF I think) and re-tap it. If you buy an 11/16 left hand tap, all your hod rod buddies will want to borrow it, ask me how I know.