Register now to get rid of these ads!

powder coating nightmare

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by leadsled, Apr 19, 2013.

1. A powder coat shop in Pensacola Fl overheated the aluminum retainig ring in my 53 Merc gauge cluster. I have not seen it but they told me it is not usable. They say that they are going to make it right. So if anyone knows where I can get another one please let me know. If anyone needs a powder coat shop in the south east I'll let you know in a PM where not to go.

This is chapter two, chapter one was the the first time. It sounds like they were trying to cook there first layer off. I am not an expert I figured they would blast off the 1st try. The problem with the 1st try was they missed the edges.

This is not a new shop it is one I have done business with twice in the past with no trouble.

2. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

Did they have details on how they were making it right? Replace? Money? Discount on next job?

3. Sphynx

Sphynx
    from Central Fl

You said that you never had any problems the last two times and they are going to make it right. So where is the issue. I understand you want your part dine right but shit happens. Explain what the deal is before bashing. I understand frustration but whats their solution to making it right?

4. verde742

verde742

they didn't wake up that morning, thinkin' " what can I mess up today?

Give them more business, not less, Sorry 'bout yer piece.

5. gtowagon

gtowagon

You can't cook off or blast off powdercoat the only way to get it off is aircraft stripper

6. raidmagic

raidmagic

I don't know, sucks your part was hurt/ruined but you have to appreciate the fact they are going to make it right. I don't know that you can ask anything more than that.

7. GEEZZER

GEEZZER