Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Pontiac OHC 6 Sprint Dimensions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by kwsullivan, Feb 13, 2021.

1. kwsullivan

kwsullivan

Does anyone have dimensions for a Pontiac OHC Sprint engine? I'm considering swapping one into my '38. My biggest concern is the overall length (bellhousing mount to the waterpump shaft?).

2. jetnow1

jetnow1
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from CT
    1. A-D Truckers

Was the block not the same as a chevy 6 of the same era? I seem to remember only the head was different.

hemihotrod66 likes this.
  3. RichFox

RichFox
    Member Emeritus

Yes. Same as a Chevy 250 - 292

hemihotrod66 likes this.
  4. rusty rocket

rusty rocket

Tombstone here on the H.A.M.B. son is running one In a model A he could probably get you exact dimensions

5. kwsullivan

kwsullivan

I'm just beginning to learn about this engine but I've read the block has a deeper skirt and it takes considerable work to adapt the Chevy crank so I don't think they are the same. Again, just scratching the surface at this time.

6. tombstone

tombstone
    from sk.canada

This might help you, unfortunately I don’t have a bellhousing on this engine.
    Overall length from fan/pulley mounting surface to rear of the engine , where bellhousing would bolt to 32 1/2 inches.
    And yes to install a Chevy 6 crank requires extensive machining.
    If you had access to a small block Chevy bellhousing for an overall measurement add that to the above and that will put you right in the ballpark .
    You will need to use a Camaro starter since OHC ones are no longer available. The starter will need a bit of clearancing on the bell end, but easily done.
    Hope this helps . These are a good engine , lots of torque. Biggest downfall is parts are getting harder to find .
    Go for it ‼️

7. 56sedandelivery

56sedandelivery
    Member Emeritus