Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Please help I'm a newbie

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Don task, Jul 12, 2017.

1. Don task

Don task

Hi guys I just bought a 1950 Pontiac fleetline and I was wondering if somebody could answer me a few questions. I'm not new to cars by any means but I'm new to 50s cars. I was wondering what the access panel is for inside the rear inner fenders. I know this might be a funny question but I just can't figure out why they would have an access panel. What are they trying to access there's nothing in there. Thanks

2. Maybe to access the upper shock mounts??

3. cheviac

cheviac
    from new jersey

It could be for access to adjust the valves.

4. Where to hide the drugs...

5. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

6. Don task

Don task

Why does this panel remove. I don't see any reason for it to be removed

Attached Files:

7. scrap metal 48

scrap metal 48

That's a good question.. I've never seen that before but there's a lot I haven't seen before...

lothiandon1940 likes this.
  8. scrap metal 48

scrap metal 48

They call it an access panel but what for???

9. rjones35

rjones35

So if you take it off and stick your hand in there, there's nothing at all? Gotta be for something.

10. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

Could it be they needed access during manufacture to weld the body together then closed it off with a bolt on panel? It doesn't appear to give access to anything except the inside of the rear fender above the wheel arch.

Don task, rjones35 and lothiandon1940 like this.
  11. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

"If ya don't know what it's for, why are you sticking your had in there?" That's what my mom would've said.;)