Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Plastic Mold Makers?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jdee, Jul 12, 2011.

1. Jdee

Jdee

How many folks here are mold makers for simple plastics and stuff?
    I made my first set a while back but it seems like
    there are not many folks making basic molds for old plastics
    these days?
    Jdee

2. Boeing Bomber

Boeing Bomber

I've been molding stuff for years, but mostly in 1/25th scale.

3. CharlieLed

CharlieLed

I make molds for lenses, knobs, shifter knobs, and other small parts. The wife does a lot of similar stuff only with jewelry. This is just a sideline for me but it is something that I could really get into if there was a market for it.

4. inlinr6

inlinr6

5. inlinr6

inlinr6

6. I've been making molds for over forty years. First there was fiberglass, then I moved into thermal plastics making medical products. Rubber molds and components where next. Then silicone molds pouring plastic parts. You can make almost anything if you learn these different processes.
    The reason you may not see many on this site making old reproduction parts in plastic is because most of the guys are metal knocking guys. Plastics, and mold making is another median used in some forms of aircraft and others relating to various crafts. Many of us are what's called well rounded and have been involved in multiple disaplines. Not that the metal knockers aren't well rounded. Many are so talanted they scare some of us. Some of the work displayed on this site is spectacular. The time, energy, and cost to make molds and plastic parts sometimes doesn't make it worth while.
    If you need help, or have questions about different processes relating to molds, and plastics I'm only an email away.
    If you would like to see some of the different items that I've built over the years. Check out my picture albums on my profile.