Register now to get rid of these ads!

phenolic spacers

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jan bogert, Dec 5, 2011.

1. jan bogert

jan bogert

anyone useing these? are they any good or just another speedway joke? there only a 1/4" thick. my gas is boiling in the carbs seen it for myself. what do you think? any good or do you know something better.

2. I'm running a 305 with an aluminum intake and a Carter carb. After shutting the engine off (anywhere ... parking lot, home garage, driveway) I would smell raw fuel. I never did pop the hood and actually check for the fuel boiling out of the carb but I did purchase an extra thick gasket (might have been called a heat insulating gasket) for the Carter (gasket was about 1/4" thick, similar to the thickness of a factory GM Quadrajet gasket) ... my problem was solved, no more raw fuel smells at all.

As per your original question, I have no experience with phenolic spacers, but isolating the carb from engine heat (using a thicker gasket in my case) did the trick for me. I would guess that phenolic spacers work, just saying they might not be the only solution to your problem.

3. I have run phenolic spacers as insulators or isolators depending on who you ask. They work real well.

4. Have a set on my 6.1 hemi and it dropped the intake manifold temp by over 80 degrees. They do work and are definitely a big bang for your buck.

5. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ
    from NJ

Wood.

Jack E/NJ

6. Jmountainjr

Jmountainjr
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

To answer your question - yes they work. But so does plywood. Plywood needs to be thicker. Many pro stock cars back in the 70's had wooden carb spacers.

7. Joe Johnston

Joe Johnston
    from Ohio

Ford used them on Y-Blocks in Thunderbirds. The people I know who removed them when they cracked or broke soon replaced them. Mine is about 1/2" thick with gaskets on both sides. Works for me.

8. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER