Register now to get rid of these ads!

pertonix dist./ballast resistor confusion

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1fiddy handyman, May 2, 2013.

  1. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    :confused: installed dist. and coil, fired right up. now no spark. i didnt remove ballast res. could that play role? im clueless on wiring for the most part.
     
  2. need a bunch more info - what motor, 12 or 6v, what ignition, what coil ???????

    Any chance you left the key on for a while after your initial start up?
     
  3. Do you have a multimeter?
     
  4. spiderdeville
    Joined: Jun 30, 2007
    Posts: 1,136

    spiderdeville
    Member
    from BOGOTA,NJ

    my experience with peetronix too .....went with a mallory unilite - no problems
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 41 C28
    Joined: Dec 17, 2005
    Posts: 1,770

    41 C28
    Member

    Don't be so hasty to write off pertronix. They went above and beyond to help me out and stand behind their products.
     
  6. creepjohnny
    Joined: Dec 1, 2007
    Posts: 871

    creepjohnny
    Member
    from Sunland,CA

    If running pertronix... No ballast resistor needed. Yes,remove it
     
  7. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    12v sbc using flamethrower dist. w/ ignitor 2 coil. plenty of spark from coil, none at plugs.
     
  8. CutawayAl
    Joined: Aug 3, 2009
    Posts: 2,144

    CutawayAl
    Member
    from MI

    Pertronix recommends using a compatible coil with no resistor. Not all coils are compatible.
     
  9. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    called pertronix. they said i have correct dist. and coil. wondering if rotor could be bad? just guessing at this point.
     
  10. If you have spark from the coil but not to the plugs ; it's not the Pertronix - check the rotor and/or cap . I believe for most installations , the electronics should have full voltage and the coil should have a resistor unless the coil is designed to work without one .
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2013
  11. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    could i try my rotor from my old points dist.? don't know if it is different from the pertronix rotor.
     
  12. Check your coil wire too. From coil there is only coil wire, cap, rotor and plug wires. It has to be there somewhere.
     
  13. 40sketter
    Joined: Oct 15, 2011
    Posts: 54

    40sketter
    Member

    i got a pertonix it workd fine then left me stranded so its collecting dust on a shelf i got the old skool points and cond works like a champ
     
  14. Dane
    Joined: May 6, 2010
    Posts: 1,353

    Dane
    Member
    from Soquel, CA

    Here we go again... [​IMG]

    RTFM! If you don't know how it should be wired find out before doing something stupid and then blaming the part cause you screwed up. It's all there if you take the time to read...
     
  15. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    i'm not faulting pertronix, just don't know what to check next. car started, timed it, ran fine. messed w/ carb and died. figured it was carb issue, turns out no spark to plugs. coil fires just fine.found that out the hard way:eek:
     
  16. hotrod brice
    Joined: Dec 16, 2008
    Posts: 61

    hotrod brice
    Member
    from molino,Fl.

    Put your old rotor on it. Check the cap.
     
  17. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    gonna try old rotor right now. i love chasing my tail.;)
     
  18. 1fiddy handyman
    Joined: Feb 20, 2013
    Posts: 51

    1fiddy handyman
    Member
    from n.e. ohio

    just checked cap. looking at underside of cap, some of the plastic around brass terminals chipped off.:confused:
     
  19. Sounds like wrong rotor. Change cap and rotor and try again!!
     
  20. '41 Chev
    Joined: Feb 23, 2013
    Posts: 76

    '41 Chev
    Member

    I put a Pertronix ign in a '68 Comet (small block) with the orig coil. Put 40,000 trouble-free miles on it (at which point the plugs looked new). Still in the car when I sold it later. Never missed a beat.
     
  21. Cruiser
    Joined: May 29, 2006
    Posts: 2,240

    Cruiser
    Member

    Pertonix is an excellent item, use the Pertonix coil to be on the safe side, Make sure to route the Pertonix wiring very neatly they will short out easy. The unit will result in more power, quit starts and cleaner plugs.

    CRUISER :cool:
     
  22. rikirix57
    Joined: Apr 24, 2013
    Posts: 17

    rikirix57
    Member

    like ALL things they can just FAIL !! ?? I have 2 pertronix , one in a 289 Mustang- when i fitted it up I contacted Pertorinx direct they advised that the unit will work with the "built in balast wire " in place ,it went fine for about 5yrs but one day JUST FAILED.....I have another fitted to a 390 in my 59 galaxie (the resistor was easy to remove on this car )still running fine after 7years !! luck of the draw ...at least with these CONVERSIONS if u get stuck on the road its pretty easy to re-fit the points set up to get home !! my pennies worth...RK57
     
  23. rikirix57
    Joined: Apr 24, 2013
    Posts: 17

    rikirix57
    Member

    P.S. , yes thats what happened when the module unit FAILED in my Mustang while out on the road...just died no spark to the leads...put my points and condensor back in and got home to experiment further......re-fitted the module and NOTHING...so I have just left the points in there......I bought an "all electronic dissy" but its still on the shelf.....its a whole lot more stuffing around on a wet , windy , cold night to fit a dissy if ITS guts fails....
    but i spose ill get 'round to fitting it in one day...
     
  24. JustBryan
    Joined: Feb 22, 2008
    Posts: 172

    JustBryan
    Member
    from NE Ohio

    1fiddy has installed complete pertronix dizzy and pertronix coil. going over to check this out tonight or tomorrow to try to find out what happened. he DID NOT install the conversion kit like some might think
     
  25. upspirate
    Joined: Apr 15, 2012
    Posts: 2,191

    upspirate
    Member

    Hard to guess from here, but it SOUNDS like the cap or rotor was defective, or not seated correctly causing them to hit
     
  26. autobodyed
    Joined: Mar 5, 2008
    Posts: 1,945

    autobodyed
    Member
    from shelton ct

    not to hijack, but i just bought a pertronix conversion kit for my caddy, any tips or tricks to know before i install it. also bought a new cap, rotor and plugs, and wires. thanks in advance.
     
  27. JustBryan
    Joined: Feb 22, 2008
    Posts: 172

    JustBryan
    Member
    from NE Ohio

    he noticed some left over "flash" surrounding the cap terminals. that's what we'll check first. (flash meaning=from cap material in manufacture process) and also said their tech help was great....
    seems like everyone is bitchin about the conversion kit. as others have noted, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS and be surprised at what you'll learn. I've installed those before without ANY problems. this shit doesn't bolt it self on and magically work.....
     
  28. The terminals are machined after the brass is molded in for a precision gap to the rotor. Are you seeing machine marks or truly something chipped? And if it is chipped is in just on some terminals or all of them ?

    If it is just a few on one side the the cap probably wasn't seated properly.

    You can test with a stock GM cap and rotor from a "window" style point dist.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.