Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Paint Rant!!!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by fastfrankie73, May 1, 2015.

1. fastfrankie73

fastfrankie73

I simply cannot believe how much the price of paint has gone up in the past five years!!!
    I just spent $417 on some "cheap" Shop line single stage gold urethane and flattening agent...along with hardner and reducer and a couple other essentials.
    I can see why everyone here wants to paint their hoopty in rustolem or tractor supply paint...especially if they are new to paint and body work. I started painting 27 years ago and had my own shop for several years. I also taught collision repair for quite a few years so I definitely know my way around this stuff but I haven't really bothered painting anything in the past few years or so. I knew things had gone up from hearing from others in the business, but I nearly had the big one when the jobber told me my price...with my old discount...I almost want to rattle can the damn thing.
    UNBELIEVABLE!!!! End of rant...

40fordtudor and lothiandon1940 like this.
  2. Stu D Baker

Stu D Baker
    from Illinois

I'm hearing you, brother.

3. I just bought 2 quarts for my Ford, to do the interior trim and the body cut-in work, essentially 2 quarts of acrylic urethane, quart of reducer and 2 small cans of catalyst. That was like $150 right there.

4. BJR

BJR

Wait till you go to fix your daily driver and find out it's got tricote paint in it. 3 times the cost. The paint companies are scamming us all big time. They can blame the EPA all they want but I don't believe it has driven the costs up as high as they are. The paint companies are really sticking it to us.

5. Kona Cruisers

Kona Cruisers